We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for downtown Duluth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Duluth Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great option for downtown Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for a wintery weekend in Duluth. The location is great for those who want to stick to downtown and its offerings. The hotel is right across the street and in the vicinity of a number of bars/restaurants (we really enjoyed Carmody's, right across the street) and a few blocks away from Fitger's. It's also a short walk to the lake and beaches, much of it on an off-street boardwalk away from the hustle and bustle of cars.

The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. I slept very well and did not even notice the fact that we were facing a commercial street. We also made use of the gym, which was small but well maintained, and included machines, weights and an assortment of exercise balls, stretching ropes, mats, etc.

The staff were also helpful and accommodating. Our flight into Duluth landed too late to take advantage of the hotel's free airport shuttle, but the front desk called a cab for us. They were also very accommodating on our last day, when we thought our flight had been cancelled on account of snow. They allowed us to book a room for an extra night and cancel the reservation at the last minute, no questions asked, once we found a way home.

One downside to this hotel, which is common to most (if not all) Sheratons, is that you have to pay for internet in your room (there are free options at kiosks within the hotel) and there is no free breakfast (although the hotel does have a restaurant/bar).

Overall I would recommend this hotel for those looking for a comfortable hotel right in downtown Duluth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    85
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
58
85
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crosslake, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here several times and love the location. It is within easy walking distance of many bars and restaurants. If you don't want to walk they offer a free shuttle. Free covered parking is a short walk away via the skyway. The rooms are clean and the beds are. very comfortable. The staff is cheerful and helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My brother-in-law was hospitalized at St. Mary's Hospital in Duluth, MN. When I called the hospital and asked for nearby hotels, they told me the Sheraton Hotel was the closest. I made reservations there but little did I know how close the Sheraton was to the hospital(s.).

The Sheraton is connected to the hospitals by a skywalk which allows guests to travel to the hospital without having to walk on the streets. This was especially ice because it was extremely cold and snowy outside. The skywalk was accessed through the lobby and up an elevator to the 4th floor.

The Sheraton gave us a special room rate because we were there due to a medical emergency. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. A shuttle van was available from 6 am to 10:30 pm to take us downtown to restaurants and shopping areas. We stayed there for 9 days and didn't need to rent a car. The shuttle will pick you up from the Duluth airport and return you there too.

The food at the Sheraton was excellent in the dining room and at the bar. We didn't utilize the room service option. Our room was large and very comfortable and had a view of Lake Superior. The hotel had a pool and an exercise room too. I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a view of Lake Superior. I didn't know enough to ask for such a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were given a gift certificate for the Sheraton. Our son was in town to ref a collage hockey game so we decided to stay overnight. I have stayed in most of the hotels in Duluth over the years for business and pleasure and this is the first time at the Sheraton. We probably won't return. There are better places to stay for the price and some for a lot less. Parking is a chore and a long walk. The elevator from the public parking ramp only goes to the lobby. Make sure you have your hotel key because the door to the hotel from the Skywalk is locked after hours. No notice in the hotel informing you that the doors will be locked after a certain time. The room was nice but to pay for wireless internet seems a bit much for a $180 room. Also make sure you bring your parking ramp ticket to the front desk to be validated. It is a long walk from the front desk to your car and back to the front desk then back to your car. While the hotel can not control the activity in the area around the hotel, just a word of concern that walking after dark, use caution. While we did not use the bar and lounge our friends who have speak very highly of the place and the food is great.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view room you will pay more for it. We had a very good view of the Lenox Buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the very best hotel in Duluth Minnesota. The hotel staff, especially Ryan is so welcoming and the rooms are pleasantly decorated and CLEAN. Everyone attempts to make your stay very enjoyable. I wanted to stay in the quiet room all day!. I stay in a hotel 80 nights a year, and this is top notch. Do not bother staying anywhere but at this property. It is the best Duluth has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and young son stayed several weeks ago and had a wonderful experience. We booked a standard double room and given our little one asked if there were suites available to upgrade. The person at the counter was very helpful and promptly said there was a suite available for an additional nominal fee and it would be ready by 5pm. I said great!

If you have a chance to book a two room suite go for it - the great part is most of them are in the corners of the hotel I believe so we had a great view of Lake Superior and the boats waiting to come to port. Also the bed room is seperated from the "sitting room" by the bathroom in between, which is great if you have kids or want to make sure you hear no noise! I have included several pictures given how pleased we were and would go back in an instant! Thanks Sheraton Duluth!

Room Tip: If you're thinking about booking a suite - do it! They are very good by Sheraton standards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. Very clean and friendly staff. I must recognize Ryan at the front desk who took care of us. We had a reservation for a different size room and he upgraded us to a suite, very nice with view of lake. The breakfast and happy hour were awesome. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Duluth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Address: 301 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
#11 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Duluth Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Duluth Hotel is ideal for business, weekend getaways, or vacation. Connected via skyway to all four Essentia Health care buildings and minutes from the Duluth International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Duluth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Duluth
Duluth Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Duluth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.