We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Duluth Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Duluth Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

On a recent road trip from Winnipeg to Toronto we stopped at the Sheraton Deluth Hotel for one night. We had no expectations and were very plesantly surprised. The desk clerk, Roxanne, was extremely helpful and found us a room with a walk in shower which I need. The room faced Lake Superior and it was a beautiful room with a beautiful view. The bar and restaurant staff was great and we a delicious meal in the restaurant. The mattress and pillows were very comfortable. I would certainly stay here again if I happened to be in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    79
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
56
79
18
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here for business in September 2012. I was not able to take advantage of any amenities. Front desk staff were friendly and professional. The room was standard for the Sheraton experience: no frills, could be in a Hampton Inn, but nothing wrong with it. You're not paying W rates, so don't expect W nice. Full-sized ironing board. It was comfortable, and clean. No problems at all.

There was a restaurant and bar, but I did not use either.

I would stay at this property again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just stayed at the Sheraton for 2 nights over the weekend. When we first pulled up outside the front door there was a bus that had just unloaded a college sports team, but we were able to check right in and even got a bell hop to help us with our luggage. Thanks Scott and Ryan! The room was very large with 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. It was perfect for our family of 5. The only noise I heard was at night was from people coming and going, but that is expected in a hotel. There is not any loud noises from air/heat. The pool is small, but it kept the kids entertained. The location of the hotel is excellent for not actually being in Canal Park. We did walk down to Canal Park one morning and it took about 30 minutes, but that is with 3 kids stopping along the way. There are lots of resturants within walking distance of the hotel. The only negative I have is that they did not explain getting out of the parking ramp. They do validate your parking ticket so there is not a charge, but you have to insert your parking ticket and then swipe your room key. Our room looked right into the area where cars would come and go, so I did watch and I know we were not the only ones stumped by this. It does just take one time to figure out what to do, though. I would definitely stay at the Sheraton again! It is a very nice hotel with great service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stay in Duluth often for work. The Sheraton has the most beautiful rooms, if you get one that overlooks the lake. However, the internet connection is slower than many dial up connections in rural Africa. Usually rooms are very clean, but on most recent visit the sink was dirty and someone's pills were on the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Margaret M,

Thank you for your review. Through your feedback we are able to learn and grow. In today's working world internet connectivity is extremely important to our business travelers and let's face it even for social connections many are dependent on the internet. Please know we are working directly with our internet provider Ethostream to better the hotels wireless service. Should you experience slow service and let our team know it will help us pinpoint with Ethostream what the problem may be and help us to a quicker resolution. You are more than welcome to speak to any of our managers for an update on the progress and changes we are making. Your comments regarding our oversight in the guest room have been shared with the Director of Housekeeping and the entire housekeeping team. The details and a keen eye for cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on and a standard we like to hold ourselves to. Please don't hesitate to contact us while you're in house to let us know if something doesn't meet your standards. We hate for you to leave without having an opportunity to show you on the spot that we do care and are willing to make changes immediately. Your feedback is a gift to us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were clean and nice beds.
Ask for the rooms away from the Main Street since they can get a little noisy.
Duluth now has a waterfront section with some great restaurants and this hotel is a little far from there but they have a free shuttle which will take you anywhere and pick you up.

The last time I stayed the driver gave us an impromptu tour if the downtown

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Laserman12,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It sounds as if you've returned for another stay with us and we are delighted to hear that! I certainly hope you are a part of our Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program and are on your way to earning points for free night stays with any of our Starwood hotels.

It's been exciting to see new restaurants and shops open within walking distance of the hotel. So hopefully you had a chance to visit these places as well as the Canal Park shops. Our shuttle is happy to take you door to door to a variety of attractions and I'm happy to hear you've been able to enjoy this service.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thanks again for your review!

Warm Regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerton, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Attended business meeting in Duluth for 4 nights. Room was clean and spacious. You get to easily opt out of daily room cleanings for hotel credits toward food and bar. Credits can not be used in store. Perfect location for several area restaurants and activities. Floors 5 and up have great view of lake.

I felt safe walking around at night with a group, but I wouldn't have otherwise.

Room Tip: The higher the better view. View on other side of hotel is of a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear AlwaysAMomFirst,

Let me start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us and we value what you have to say.

It sounds like you appreciated our Make A Green Choice program which does allow you a restaurant credit or SPG (Starwood Preferred Guest) points. We see it as a win/win. You have the opportunity to help us be more sustainable and we thank you by letting you chose each day a restaurant credit or SPG points.

I hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again for work or for relaxation. Again, thank you for your gift of feedback!

Warm Regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here with sister & niece. Very happy with room - spacious, comfortable & very clean. The beds were comfortable. Only negative was we paid for a lake view not realizing the view was from the bedroom, not the living room. We did not spend a lot of time in the room however since we were out sightseeing, so it didn't make any difference. Parking was easy - just a short walk away. Used the jacuzzi & pool - surprised to find it was salt water. The entire staff was "top notch". Would visit again with no qualms!

Room Tip: If requesting lake view room, make sure the view is from the room where you will spend most of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, General Manager at Sheraton Duluth Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear dcc6825,

Thank you for your feedback. Our associates work very hard to understand what is important to you and all of our guests. Sharing your “top notch” comment I’m sure will bring a lot of smiles to many associates faces!

Your feedback regarding the clarification of the lakeview for the room type you had is very valuable and know that it will be shared. Something maybe we take for granted but is a detail that sure can make an impact.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you return to Duluth!
Warm Regards,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Duluth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Duluth Hotel

Address: 301 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Duluth
#10 Business Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Duluth Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Duluth Hotel is ideal for business, weekend getaways, or vacation. Connected via skyway to all four Essentia Health care buildings and minutes from the Duluth International Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Duluth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Duluth
Duluth Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Duluth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.