We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay but check your receipt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Point Marina Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Point Marina Inn to your Saves list
Park Point Marina Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1033 Minnesota Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great stay but check your receipt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nice to have everything shiny and new. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful. We had a harbor view room on third floor-perfect for us with the window open all night and the balcony for watching the boats. The breakfast was adequate but the first morning the eggs and hash browns were ice cold. We took the evening shuttle to Canal Park even though it is not far to walk, nice touch. At checkout, we were asked if we wanted a receipt and we said yes. It was nicely itemized so that we noticed a $1.50 daily charge for the safe in the room. The charges were removed as soon as we asked and while it is a small charge, it could easily missed. We enjoyed our stay and probably will stay there again.

Room Tip: The harbor side is quieter (no parking lot), better view in my opinion. Can leave the window open on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
29
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The pros: Brand new, very clean, quiet, spacious room with comfortable beds. That should be good enough, but...

The cons: Clueless/young staffers who need lessons in customer service, ridiculous 10:30AM check-out time (even when they begrudgingly agreed to give us a "late" check-out of 11:30, they still called the room around 11 to scoldingly remind us that check-out was 10:30), and WAY overpriced.

I did not choose this hotel, I stayed here because of a wedding. When I called the day before to see if we could get a better view (ours was of the parking lot, at $230 a night) they were not helpful.

In a nutshell: It's "nice," but pretty generic/bland, especially at these prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy F, Manager at Park Point Marina Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
On behalf of our staff at The Park Point Marina Inn, we sincerely apologize for not meeting your customer service expectations. It is always our goal to be exceeding your expectations and then some. We are working every day to make our new staff more knowledgeable and to be able to assist every guest to their highest expectations. We would also like to apologize for the phone call you received to your room after you had already arranged a late checkout. This was a mistake caused by miscommunication by our front desk staff that we take full responsibility for. We are always striving to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and want them to stay as long as we can allow. We apologize for not meeting your standards and we hope you will consider staying with us again so we can meet your expectations and then some.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Everything is clean and in good condition. The staff are helpful, but a little slow. My room had a balcony overlooking the bridge, and that was the most interesting feature. It is not in walking distance of anywhere to eat or attractions to visit. The complimentary breakfast is pretty generic.
They have swimming for the kids- helpful. It was missing the wow factor that would have made me feel better about paying $220 for a room w/ 2 queen beds- in Duluth, off the beaten path.

Room Tip: the city view side is more interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Fantastic hotel within walking distance to Canal Park. Harbor behind the hotel is nice, but not necessarily worth extra $$ to stay in a harbor view room. New rooms were very clean, beds were comfortable with great pillows. Bathroom was clean and stocked with fluffy, clean towels and very nice soaps and lotions. Rooms were wonderful. Staff was amazing. I recommend this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We book our stay over the phone for one night and then decided to stay a second. The rooms are nice, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was well done. We would stay at this hotel again. Best part was watching the fireworks from the marina behind the hotel...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We had a nice stay at this new Inn which is conveniently located across the lift bridge in Canal Park. We could walk across the bridge to visit the lighthouses or shops and restaurants in the park area.

The rooms were tasteful and had small balconies to enjoy the view of Lake Superior. The complimentary breakfast was simple but nothing special. We opted to go to a nearby restaurant for breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent on every level. Fast check-in. They call you in about 10 minutes to see how you like your room and to see if you need anything. Room comes with a the necessities; Safe, iron, ironing board, plastic bag for wet items, extra comforter. Bathroom comes with everything you need like shampoo, conditioner, lotion, mouthwash, lots of towels. Coffee station, refrigerator. I'm sure I'm forgetting something. Comfy beds, easy to operate TV. Quiet, no noise. Adult swim in the heated indoor pool from 9-10pm. Wonderful breakfast. We had a view of the lake. Oh, and Free WiFi. Very nice!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Point Marina Inn

Address: 1033 Minnesota Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Point Marina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duluth's Waterfront Hotel. Experience Duluth from a different point of view. Brand new 3 diamond hotel resort located 50 FT from the water's edge on beautiful Park Point and within easy walking distance of Canal Park, Aerial Lift Bridge and Lakewalk. Featuring 68 deluxe rooms 100% smoke free, most with decks overlooking Lake Superior's Duluth Harbor or Duluth's cityside and Ariel Lift Bridge. Amenities include Indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness center, 2 meeting/banquet rooms with outside decks, business center, gift shop, and guest laundry. Lobbyside bar offers beer and hard lemonades as well as frozen pizza and sandwiches. Breakwater pier walk for ship viewing. Jacuzzi suites available. Pantry Breakfast Buffet includes waffles, sausage, scrambled eggs, assorted bagels and danishes, & cappuccino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Park Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Point Marina Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.