We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Solglimt Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stanley, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Over the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at many B and Bs but this one is over the top for many reasons. Mary greeted us at the door even before we knocked and then gave us a delightfully thorough tour. It was so interesting to see and hear how this place has matured and developed since Mary and Brian purchased it in1978. As we were the only guests on a weeknight, we were generously given the opportunity to upgrade to any of the suites we wanted. If you were to see the Lake Superior Suite, you would know why we selected it, though all the rooms would have suited us just fine. The location of this property is nothing short of spectacular. A sitting area in our room with super cozy swivel chairs looked out onto the frozen lake and we quickly set aside our plans to set off for dinner to just sit and watch the light and shadows forever changing on the frozen tundra. The lift bridge was also visible from our windows like a postcard and canal park with the shops, restaurants and ships ( in season) is only a block away. I feel like I'm running out of space and I still haven't mentioned the steam shower , fantastic breakfast, amazing plants, artwork and super pleasant hosts. We had avoided this place in the past as I used to live on Park Point and thought "been there done that" but I now know what a silly notion that was. Solglimt is a uniquely wonderful place and staying there will provide anyone with an unforgettable experience any time of year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I brought my wife here to celebrate her January birthday and it was perfect! We have been to several B&Bs over the last 14 years, one several times and several once only - we plan to come back to Solglimt! The accommodations were spacious, comfortable and we felt completely at home. Brian and Mary provided us with delicious gourmet breakfasts and they were wonderful hosts with tips for things to see and do and they had good local dining advice. The location is fantastic for watching the ever-changing scenery on Lake Superior, especially at sunrise. It is in walking distance to shopping, dining, the Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center and the Lakewalk area just across the Aerial Lift Bridge. We had good timing on the second day there, as we caught the lift bridge going up and watched all of the excitement as the Arthur M. Anderson Cargo Ship passed through the canal. I asked Mary to have Roses in the room for my wife, and she was happy to do that for me. My wife and I had a great time at Solglimt and in Duluth and look forward to our next stay with Brian and Mary.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aerial Bridge Suite which was fantastic - very comfortable bed, relaxing air jet tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianinlakeelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had an excellent time over the weekend we stayed here. We were having our last "getaway" before our 3rd child is born. Truly relaxing. Room was upgraded! Food was very delicious. We left feeling refreshed. We stayed in the Lake Superior Suite - great view! Hope to be back someday.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a view - won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMVC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

So fun and so much character. This is a super unique property very close to Canal and right ont the lake! We really enjoyed our stay at Solglimt. Stayed in the Harbor View which had a great fire place to curl up and read by as well as a jet tub.

Very well kept and great service. Breakfast was phenomenal! Come cook for me, Mary! Check in was easy though we arrived after dinner time.

Even in the winter tundra it was warm and inviting. Can't wait to return in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our first visit to Solglimt B&B. We will definitely be back! The rooms were modern and comfortable with a great view of Lake Superior. The innkeepers were very accommodating - even with a Gluten allergy, freshly baked, Gluten Free cookies were awaiting us upon arrival. The breakfast was also very tasty!

Room Tip: Beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akhaugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our 2nd visit at Solglimt B & B and we loved it both times. Wonderful location, very clean, comfortable atmosphere, friendly people, and delicious food. We will definitely visit it again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I sent four nights here as a belated honeymoon, having gotten marries this summer. Neither of us had been to a bed and breakfast before. The breakfasts are delicious - couldn't ask for better food. The rooms are well kept and clean, and the owners are wonderful and very helpful. We stayed in the Harbor room and really enjoyed it. It was quiet, fun, and relaxing, just what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Rakoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Address: 828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing