We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Solglimt Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had an excellent time over the weekend we stayed here. We were having our last "getaway" before our 3rd child is born. Truly relaxing. Room was upgraded! Food was very delicious. We left feeling refreshed. We stayed in the Lake Superior Suite - great view! Hope to be back someday.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a view - won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
50
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

So fun and so much character. This is a super unique property very close to Canal and right ont the lake! We really enjoyed our stay at Solglimt. Stayed in the Harbor View which had a great fire place to curl up and read by as well as a jet tub.

Very well kept and great service. Breakfast was phenomenal! Come cook for me, Mary! Check in was easy though we arrived after dinner time.

Even in the winter tundra it was warm and inviting. Can't wait to return in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our first visit to Solglimt B&B. We will definitely be back! The rooms were modern and comfortable with a great view of Lake Superior. The innkeepers were very accommodating - even with a Gluten allergy, freshly baked, Gluten Free cookies were awaiting us upon arrival. The breakfast was also very tasty!

Room Tip: Beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our 2nd visit at Solglimt B & B and we loved it both times. Wonderful location, very clean, comfortable atmosphere, friendly people, and delicious food. We will definitely visit it again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I sent four nights here as a belated honeymoon, having gotten marries this summer. Neither of us had been to a bed and breakfast before. The breakfasts are delicious - couldn't ask for better food. The rooms are well kept and clean, and the owners are wonderful and very helpful. We stayed in the Harbor room and really enjoyed it. It was quiet, fun, and relaxing, just what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our first stay was in winter of 2012, so for our wedding anniversary we returned in fall. Our first trip we stayed in the loft, this time we splurged for the lake view suite. It was just wonderful. Two very comfortable chairs in front of a window overlooking Lake superior (right on the shore). We saw ships coming and going through the lift gate canal. On the warmer day we spent time on the beach sipping wine on a provided lawn chair. They also have a number of seating with tables on their porch, but visibility to the water is less. The be is king size and comfortable, bathroom very big with steam room.

Now the breakfast is start of the show, 3 course wonderfully prepared. Enjoyed time meeting other couples.

The owners were very accommodating and even served us breakfast an hour earlier than normal since we had to leave early.

I'm not a B&B person, but this place in an exception, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a great stay at Solglimt in early September, beginning with a warm welcome from Mary and tour of the house and continuing through late night chocolate chip cookies and a wonderful breakfast the next morning. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time to spend - we enjoyed touring Duluth and the North Shore but found ourselves thinking how nice it would be to spend more time at the B&B itself... "this would be perfect for a hot July day we could spend near the water. But, you know, it would also be a great place to sit during a snow storm and watch the flakes fall on Lake Superior."

We stayed in the Lake Superior suite and highly recommend it. There's no fireplace or bathtub but the views of the lake, the high ceiling, the sitting nook (perfect for relaxing and reading) and steam generator more than make up for it. I'm sure the other rooms are great, too, but we'll certainly ask for the Lake Superior one next time we're back. I've often thought that the mark of a good B&B is the owners' attention to the little things, and Mary and Brian had definitely put time into all sorts of details. From the aforementioned delicious cookies waiting when we arrived (and again when we got back after dinner!) to the gorgeous gardens and well-stocked fridge and coffee/tea area, they clearly put a lot of time and effort into making Solglimt a welcoming place and it shows. We're looking forward to visiting again and have already started recommending it to friends and family looking for a getaway to Duluth!

Room Tip: Loved the Lake Superior Suite with amazing lake views, high ceilings and plenty of space to read and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Address: 828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;