We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Solglimit, the best B&B in Duluth. The lake views, the perfect suite and close proximity to Canal Park make this a great place to stay. Brian and Mary are most gracious hosts. You will enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
47
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We loved having the view of the Lake and using the binoculars to check out the ships on the Lake. The steam shower was a treat. We could only enjoy one breakfast and it was a feast for the eyes and delicious too. Location perfect! everything wonderful.

Room Tip: Lake View worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This was our first B&B stay and it's going to be hard to beat Solglimt! The location is perfect, less than a 5 min walk to Canal Park, and right on the beach of Lake Superior. They have so many complimentary amenities available to guests including beach chairs, towels, and umbrellas to enjoy the beach, snacks, all sorts of coffee, tea, and beverages, cookies (the best ever!), and binoculars to view the harbor. The breakfasts were amazing; 3 course gourmet dishes. The weather allowed breakfast to be served on the outdoor patio overlooking the lake. We stayed in the Park Point suite and had an amazing view. Our room was very clean and spacious and included a huge soaker tub with air jets, a fireplace and an incredibly comfortable bed. Mary and Brian were so friendly and made sure we had everything we needed but gave us our privacy. As a young newly married couple, we weren't sure what to expect staying at a B&B but we loved it and can't wait to go back!! Such a great experience, I'd recommend Solglimt to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This B&B is on the water's edge. It truly has the best view of Lake Superior out of all the wonderful B&B's we have tried in Duluth. If it is views of the water, close access to Canal Park and a spot to relax this is the B&B for you. The rooms are clean, comfy and have TV if you desire access to media. The common rooms are cozy, offer a get away outside your room retreat. Don't miss the garden oasis. Sit in a secluded spot or gather with other guests your choice. Breakfast's are delicious and filling. The inn keepers friendly, willing to let you sit and relax or give advise on places to go and places to dine. A must see place for those who love Duluth.

Room Tip: If it is lake view you wish ask as you reserve your room. I don't believe their is a bad choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed at this B&B about 6 times in 2 different rooms. We love the location (12 houses from the lift bridge!), the views from both sides of the house, the gardens, it's lake front location, and the fantastic breakfasts. Brian & Mary are great hosts, and the property is wonderful. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Duluth! It is as beautiful as the pictures on their website.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We live in Duluth 20 minutes from Solglimt but feel a life time away when we enjoy a beach vacation with Mary & Brian! The gardens, the lake views, gourmet breakfast, lovely decor, sandy beaches, short walk to Canal Park, and decadent pampering bring us back to Solglimt again and again!

Room Tip: Every room is a good choice- they all have special qualities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I struggled with our variety of choices of B&Bs in Duluth...but we chose the right one! The Solglimt is located just across the aerial lift bridge and is an easy walk to canal park, restaurants, the lake walk, etc. The B&B is beautiful...the back decks and gardens are beyond gorgeous. Many Perks at this B&B...fresh cookies and snack mixes, access to a tea & coffee station, a fridge stocked with soda and bottled water. We were in the Habor View room with a private patio....loved it!! I can't say enough about the grounds in both the front and back...every time I turned around I found something new. We breakfasted on one of the beautiful patios...it has a glass barrier to protect from the winds....the food is gourmet...they know what they are doing. The tubs are jetted, we had robes...and they do have TVs....a must for my husband:) The décor is a mix of modern and antiques....well done...clean and fresh. Will stay here on our next visit to Duluth...Loved it. Brian and Mary are also the perfect hosts...present if you need them but never hovering. Wonderful B&B. We have to move tomorrow night to a hotel where our convention is being held and are truly dreading the move....this has been a wonderful, warm and fun experience!! Doug and Carolynn, Sioux Falls, SD

Room Tip: Choose a room with the type of view you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Address: 828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Solglimt Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list