We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath Taking and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Solglimt Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breath Taking and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This B&B is on the water's edge. It truly has the best view of Lake Superior out of all the wonderful B&B's we have tried in Duluth. If it is views of the water, close access to Canal Park and a spot to relax this is the B&B for you. The rooms are clean, comfy and have TV if you desire access to media. The common rooms are cozy, offer a get away outside your room retreat. Don't miss the garden oasis. Sit in a secluded spot or gather with other guests your choice. Breakfast's are delicious and filling. The inn keepers friendly, willing to let you sit and relax or give advise on places to go and places to dine. A must see place for those who love Duluth.

Room Tip: If it is lake view you wish ask as you reserve your room. I don't believe their is a bad choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
60
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed at this B&B about 6 times in 2 different rooms. We love the location (12 houses from the lift bridge!), the views from both sides of the house, the gardens, it's lake front location, and the fantastic breakfasts. Brian & Mary are great hosts, and the property is wonderful. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Duluth! It is as beautiful as the pictures on their website.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We live in Duluth 20 minutes from Solglimt but feel a life time away when we enjoy a beach vacation with Mary & Brian! The gardens, the lake views, gourmet breakfast, lovely decor, sandy beaches, short walk to Canal Park, and decadent pampering bring us back to Solglimt again and again!

Room Tip: Every room is a good choice- they all have special qualities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I struggled with our variety of choices of B&Bs in Duluth...but we chose the right one! The Solglimt is located just across the aerial lift bridge and is an easy walk to canal park, restaurants, the lake walk, etc. The B&B is beautiful...the back decks and gardens are beyond gorgeous. Many Perks at this B&B...fresh cookies and snack mixes, access to a tea & coffee station, a fridge stocked with soda and bottled water. We were in the Habor View room with a private patio....loved it!! I can't say enough about the grounds in both the front and back...every time I turned around I found something new. We breakfasted on one of the beautiful patios...it has a glass barrier to protect from the winds....the food is gourmet...they know what they are doing. The tubs are jetted, we had robes...and they do have TVs....a must for my husband:) The décor is a mix of modern and antiques....well done...clean and fresh. Will stay here on our next visit to Duluth...Loved it. Brian and Mary are also the perfect hosts...present if you need them but never hovering. Wonderful B&B. We have to move tomorrow night to a hotel where our convention is being held and are truly dreading the move....this has been a wonderful, warm and fun experience!! Doug and Carolynn, Sioux Falls, SD

Room Tip: Choose a room with the type of view you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed three nights at Solglimt in July. My husband had business in Duluth and I came along with him for a mini vacation in an area where we had never visited. Solglimt came highly recommended from a business acquaintance and we couldn't have been happier.

We stayed in the Lake Superior Room with its gorgeous view of Lake Superior. We were initially a little concerned about noise as we were above the kitchen . . . but we never heard a peep. Mary and Brian have innkeeping down to a science! They clearly strive for perfection and they come close to achieving it. Breakfast each morning was fabulous. If we had stayed any longer I might have had to ask that my courses be cut down to one instead of three. Both innkeepers were always around and even volunteered to make dinner reservations for us. (I do wonder what happens when they go on vacation and hire an inn "sitter." It's probably fine but couldn't be the same as having Brian and Mary.)

We also thoroughly enjoyed the people we met at breakfast. For Atlantans who had never set foot in Minnesota, this was a great opportunity for a local "slice of life." We'd go back to Duluth! Loved the drive up the North Shore, the tour of Glensheen, and of course watching the bridge and boats on the canal. We'll definitely take a look at the webcam on the Solglimt deck this winter to see how the lake looks in a very different season. Our July weather was amazing.

Bottom line, if you like to meet people and want a fabulous B & B experience, you can't go wrong with Solglimt.

Room Tip: Lake Superior Room has beautiful view and is very quiet. No bathtub or fireplace though so if you...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I planned a trip to Duluth from the Twin Cities to see Dylan. I decided that we would stay at a B&B, this trip up north. I also wanted to stay close to the venue, which meant somewhere around Canal Park. I was researching to see what I could find and I pulled up Solglimt. I called and lucky enough, the Kaminsky Loft was available for the two nights we were hoping for.
Well, what can I say? The loft was awesome, even though it didn't face the lake. It worked out just perfectly for us. The house itself was lovely, large, welcoming. The grounds were expansive and tri level, with lake access. There were snacks galore and breakfasts that were scrumptous to eat and beautiful to look at. It really is a "family affair" with Brian and Mary; both of them share in the overall guest experience.
There truly is no reason for us - or you - to look further when wanting to have a "special" trip up north.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. For most people, the rooms facing the lake are the 'hot' ones but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Loved the Soglimt. The location is very convenient to restaurants and activities. The breakfast on the 2 days we were there was amazing each day. The hosts, Brian and Mary are very generous with water, sodas cookies and snacks available gratis. the room we were in was so comfortable, quiet and homey. We'll be back to the Soglimt!

Room Tip: Love the modern Scandinavian design in the Aeriel bridge suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
0.2 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#4 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#9 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Address: 828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.