We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to please!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Solglimt Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Mn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never fails to please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed at this B&B about 6 times in 2 different rooms. We love the location (12 houses from the lift bridge!), the views from both sides of the house, the gardens, it's lake front location, and the fantastic breakfasts. Brian & Mary are great hosts, and the property is wonderful. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Duluth! It is as beautiful as the pictures on their website.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
55
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We live in Duluth 20 minutes from Solglimt but feel a life time away when we enjoy a beach vacation with Mary & Brian! The gardens, the lake views, gourmet breakfast, lovely decor, sandy beaches, short walk to Canal Park, and decadent pampering bring us back to Solglimt again and again!

Room Tip: Every room is a good choice- they all have special qualities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I struggled with our variety of choices of B&Bs in Duluth...but we chose the right one! The Solglimt is located just across the aerial lift bridge and is an easy walk to canal park, restaurants, the lake walk, etc. The B&B is beautiful...the back decks and gardens are beyond gorgeous. Many Perks at this B&B...fresh cookies and snack mixes, access to a tea & coffee station, a fridge stocked with soda and bottled water. We were in the Habor View room with a private patio....loved it!! I can't say enough about the grounds in both the front and back...every time I turned around I found something new. We breakfasted on one of the beautiful patios...it has a glass barrier to protect from the winds....the food is gourmet...they know what they are doing. The tubs are jetted, we had robes...and they do have TVs....a must for my husband:) The décor is a mix of modern and antiques....well done...clean and fresh. Will stay here on our next visit to Duluth...Loved it. Brian and Mary are also the perfect hosts...present if you need them but never hovering. Wonderful B&B. We have to move tomorrow night to a hotel where our convention is being held and are truly dreading the move....this has been a wonderful, warm and fun experience!! Doug and Carolynn, Sioux Falls, SD

Room Tip: Choose a room with the type of view you are looking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed three nights at Solglimt in July. My husband had business in Duluth and I came along with him for a mini vacation in an area where we had never visited. Solglimt came highly recommended from a business acquaintance and we couldn't have been happier.

We stayed in the Lake Superior Room with its gorgeous view of Lake Superior. We were initially a little concerned about noise as we were above the kitchen . . . but we never heard a peep. Mary and Brian have innkeeping down to a science! They clearly strive for perfection and they come close to achieving it. Breakfast each morning was fabulous. If we had stayed any longer I might have had to ask that my courses be cut down to one instead of three. Both innkeepers were always around and even volunteered to make dinner reservations for us. (I do wonder what happens when they go on vacation and hire an inn "sitter." It's probably fine but couldn't be the same as having Brian and Mary.)

We also thoroughly enjoyed the people we met at breakfast. For Atlantans who had never set foot in Minnesota, this was a great opportunity for a local "slice of life." We'd go back to Duluth! Loved the drive up the North Shore, the tour of Glensheen, and of course watching the bridge and boats on the canal. We'll definitely take a look at the webcam on the Solglimt deck this winter to see how the lake looks in a very different season. Our July weather was amazing.

Bottom line, if you like to meet people and want a fabulous B & B experience, you can't go wrong with Solglimt.

Room Tip: Lake Superior Room has beautiful view and is very quiet. No bathtub or fireplace though so if you...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I planned a trip to Duluth from the Twin Cities to see Dylan. I decided that we would stay at a B&B, this trip up north. I also wanted to stay close to the venue, which meant somewhere around Canal Park. I was researching to see what I could find and I pulled up Solglimt. I called and lucky enough, the Kaminsky Loft was available for the two nights we were hoping for.
Well, what can I say? The loft was awesome, even though it didn't face the lake. It worked out just perfectly for us. The house itself was lovely, large, welcoming. The grounds were expansive and tri level, with lake access. There were snacks galore and breakfasts that were scrumptous to eat and beautiful to look at. It really is a "family affair" with Brian and Mary; both of them share in the overall guest experience.
There truly is no reason for us - or you - to look further when wanting to have a "special" trip up north.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. For most people, the rooms facing the lake are the 'hot' ones but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Loved the Soglimt. The location is very convenient to restaurants and activities. The breakfast on the 2 days we were there was amazing each day. The hosts, Brian and Mary are very generous with water, sodas cookies and snacks available gratis. the room we were in was so comfortable, quiet and homey. We'll be back to the Soglimt!

Room Tip: Love the modern Scandinavian design in the Aeriel bridge suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights at Solglimt and I could not have been more pleased with our visit. Mary & Brian greeted us when we arrived and made us feel completely at home. The first night we stayed in Kandinsky's Loft and that room was very fun, with artistic touches in every corner of the room. One note about the Loft is that the bed is a Double, not a Queen or King like the other rooms.

The second night we stayed in the Lake Superior Room and that was magnificent. Honestly, we could have sat and watched the Lake out of the huge bay windows for hours. The name of the house, Solglimt, comes from the Danish word for the morning light shining on the water. When we woke up Sunday morning, we did see solglimt on the Lake and it felt very special.

Mary is an excellent chef and the food she prepared was magnificent. Examples of the home made breakfast we were served included blueberry-peach gallette (type of flatbread), rhubarb scones and wild rice quiche.

I cannot recommend this bed & breakfast highly enough, it is a place I know we will be visiting many times in the future

Room Tip: The Lake Superior room has an unbelievable view of the Lake. Try to get it if at all possible
See more room tips
Green Features: Made an effort to be environmentally friendly in food preparation and in providing recycling bins in each room
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solglimt, Owner at Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We enjoyed meeting you and visiting with you. Glad you enjoyed our breakfasts. It was so good you could move into the the Lake Superior Suite for your second night. Our bed in the Loft is actually a queen bed not a double. The Loft room and the Park Point Suites are both queen beds. We look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Address: 828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.