We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Solglimt Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

B&B is beautifully located, right by the beach while being in walking distance to downtown. Rooms are modern, very clean and arranged for best view on lake superior. Everything is top quality, bed, bathroom, fireplace, electronics. Helpful & dedicated owners manage the B&B with great attention to detail. Very happy with my choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
54
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in the Loft and really enjoyed our time at the B&B. It is so close to Canal Park that you can walk around easily and see the ships come in from the inn. It's great for a walk on the beach right in their backyard. The Innkeepers are very friendly and generously provide guests with a fridge of soda, beer, water and various snacks like cookies, trail mix, pretzels, etc. Breakfast is served at 9am in the great room looking out to the lake and the canal.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast awesome. The wife says lovely. We stayed in the loft very quaint.

Host were very friendly and knowledgeable about duluth. The view was awesome right on the lake. Breakfast was at 9 and we got to meet. The other guests.

Well kept and very clean. Snacks and soda available all day. Felt like home

Can't wait to stay there in summer

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Mary and Brian are so gracious!! The house is superb, very cool decor and very up to date. The location, the best, sitting, overlooking Lake Superior, close to shopping, the lakeshore walk and restaurants. The breakfast and service the best I have ever had..I was not sure of what to expect and to my amazement, loved this place. I agree that Sloglimt B&B is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We want to keep this amazing place a well kept secret! But I'm certain that word of mouth is spreading faster than the speed of light. Soon everyone will now how phenomenal this B&B is and we will never find an availability ever again! Woe is us! Joy to the world.

Room Tip: Room with view of Lake Superior sunrise is heavenly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

What a great house; with up to date amenities and the latest in cool updates, the house is awesome. Beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The back yard is lovely, with great seating areas and stairs down to the beach with chairs you can take with. Breakfast is not only large, like 4 course if I remember correctly but it is delicious as well and will leave you asking for recipes. Brian and Mary are like relatives that you WANT to stay with. They are both very personable, down home kind of people. The location is stellar as many others have pointed out.

Room Tip: Just a note that if you like to sleep in, the two rooms we stayed in were very bright in the am and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Grovers have a lovely B&B on the shore in Duluth, MN. The accommodations are exceptional and the food superb. They were especially caring to my husband who experiencing some back problems and made our stay all the more pleasant with that care.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Address: 828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.