We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first b&B VERY NICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solglimt Bed & Breakfast
828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Duluth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our first b&B VERY NICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast awesome. The wife says lovely. We stayed in the loft very quaint.

Host were very friendly and knowledgeable about duluth. The view was awesome right on the lake. Breakfast was at 9 and we got to meet. The other guests.

Well kept and very clean. Snacks and soda available all day. Felt like home

Can't wait to stay there in summer

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
47
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Mary and Brian are so gracious!! The house is superb, very cool decor and very up to date. The location, the best, sitting, overlooking Lake Superior, close to shopping, the lakeshore walk and restaurants. The breakfast and service the best I have ever had..I was not sure of what to expect and to my amazement, loved this place. I agree that Sloglimt B&B is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We want to keep this amazing place a well kept secret! But I'm certain that word of mouth is spreading faster than the speed of light. Soon everyone will now how phenomenal this B&B is and we will never find an availability ever again! Woe is us! Joy to the world.

Room Tip: Room with view of Lake Superior sunrise is heavenly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

What a great house; with up to date amenities and the latest in cool updates, the house is awesome. Beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The back yard is lovely, with great seating areas and stairs down to the beach with chairs you can take with. Breakfast is not only large, like 4 course if I remember correctly but it is delicious as well and will leave you asking for recipes. Brian and Mary are like relatives that you WANT to stay with. They are both very personable, down home kind of people. The location is stellar as many others have pointed out.

Room Tip: Just a note that if you like to sleep in, the two rooms we stayed in were very bright in the am and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Grovers have a lovely B&B on the shore in Duluth, MN. The accommodations are exceptional and the food superb. They were especially caring to my husband who experiencing some back problems and made our stay all the more pleasant with that care.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My sister and I spent the weekend at Solglimt on a weekend trip to Duluth. We stayed in the Kandinsky suite which was delightful. The breakfasts were delicious and Brian and Mary were helpful with restaurant suggestions. I would definitely stay here again. Much more interesting than the hotels close by.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, MS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I joined my husband on a business trip to Duluth, and we stayed at the Solglimt on August 22-24, 2010. I researched our trip via the internet and found the Solglimt. I was fascinated by this B&B. It is a totally different feel from any other B&B that we have stayed in - very laid back and casual.

We stayed in Kadinsky's Loft and loved it! The Loft is decorated in vibrant colors and has loads of natural light. You have a view of the Aerial Lift Bridge through the skylight. There is a view of the Lake through another skylight and a view of the harbor through the front window. All of the windows and skylights have blackout shades. The couch was so comfortable, and I loved to sit there and read. The bath has a large shower and a lot of space with a full dresser and large sink. There are so many fun and funky details in this room!

The common rooms of the house are beautiful with panoramic views from virtually every window. The inn sits on the beach of Park Point exactly 12 houses from the Bridge. We enjoyed being able to walk to Canal Park and avoid the hassles and expense of parking. The rooms are on different levels throughout the house. There is a computer for guests' use in the dining room. We enjoyed seeing the other suites, and they were all beautiful! The grounds of the inn are gorgeous with water features and fountains.

The breakfasts were wonderful! The apricot scones would melt in your mouth! Breakfasts are served in the dining room or on the deck overlooking the Lake (weather permitting). The kitchen is open, and it is fun to watch Mary and Brian at work! Mary is an incredible cook and Brian makes everything look fabulous! There are complimentary sodas, water, hot tea, and coffee available. Fresh baked chocolate chip cookies, along with salty snacks, were available each day.

Mary and Brian were extremely gracious hosts taking time to visit and answer any questions. We enjoyed visiting with them immensely!

You cannot beat this inn's location and uniqueness!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solglimt Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solglimt Bed & Breakfast

Address: 828 South Lake Ave, Duluth, MN 55802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Duluth
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Duluth MN bed breakfasts offer a more intimate experience with Lake Superior's shores. Right here in Canal Park, Solglimt brings you as close to the Lake as you can get! Solglimt, is on a seven-mile strip of sand reaching out into Lake Superior’s clear blue. Relax in your perfectly appointed room and head down for a delicately prepared gourmet meal, then head out to explore our gardens, the shore, the ships and the city beyond. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solglimt Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Solglimt Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list