We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Duluth North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night; to attend a family birthday party in Duluth. We didn't use the pool area since it was such a short stay, but we were very pleased with our stay. I am difficult to please, and all the important things to me were taken care of. The hotel staff was very friendly. We used the shuttle service and that went well. Our room was clean, smelled nice and the heat worked well (not noisy like some hotels are). The bed was very comforable and there were multiple pillows - nice size. The breakfast and coffee were very good. There were cold cereal choices, some hot choices (make-your-own waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits, etc) as well as coffee, milk, juice. We went to the Outback for dinner - right across the parking lot which was convenient. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We will continue to give all of our guests a warm and welcoming experience at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    55
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
41
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Pros: Location, quiet, breakfast.
Cons: It was difficult to maintain a constant temperature in the room.

Checking in was a breeze - the front desk gave a courtesy call a few hours later to see if all was well (nice touch). Housekeeping were courteous and friendly - a smile goes a long way! Complementary breakfast had a nice selection to choose from, food that was suppose to be hot was hot, cold things were kept cold. Room was clean, dusted fairly well, air filter in HVAC unit is being maintained (not clogged up). Fridge and microwave were clean and functional. Bed linens were in good shape, towels were OK. WiFi was good, though a bit slow during peak times. Modern TV with good selection of channels (no HD programming - not a big deal for us). Pool was a bit too cool, hot tub was fine. Pool towels were clean, but pretty wore out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice letter concerning our hotel. We do try hard to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. Thank you again for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor and look forward to seeing you again when you are visiting the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This isn't the finest place I've stayed but it was so darn nice on the inside. Fireplace in the lobby, seen many hotels with that but this one was really cozy. Had a pool, no big deal but I loved it. I know I sound like a total rube who hasn't gone anywhere but that doesn't mean this wasn't a nice place. Oh, no fans in the bathroom. Good place for pets and families.

Room Tip: No views to speak of unless you're into Gander Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We want to thank you for thaking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We will definitely share this with our staff and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our property. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, ON
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is where our family stays regularly. They accept pets and have a good size pet walking area. The free breakfast is great, hot and cold items, and a wide variety. Staff is always friendly and accommodating. Pool area is great for the kids. Hotel is in great location, close to all the shopping and restaurants on the hill :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments and do try our best to make all of our guests feel like they are at home when away from home. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I live 2 hours up the shore in Grand Marais, MN and anytime we have to stay overnight in Duluth we stay at the Country Inn. When we flew in to Duluth from Arizona on New Years Eve (during a snowstorm) at 11pm. No other hotel park and fly would come and pick us up from the airport (or it would be over an hour wait). We called the Country Inn, and the guy at the front desk actually grabbed one of their vans and came to pick us up right away! We stay here again when we missed our flight to go on our honeymoon. We got a few fun nights at the hotel with the waterslide all to ourselves. Tons of fun. And comfortable. And super friendly staff. Oh, and the continental breakfast is great too. Highly recommended for anyone staying in Duluth!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We want to thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your willingness to share your experience and truly look foward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The room was large and spacious. The bed was comfortable, and the room and bath were very clean. Only issue I had was the parking is somewhat limited, so tough to find a parking space when they are busy. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your comments and will definitely share them with our staff. Thank you again, for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you travels bring you the the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Good solid room, but the breakfasts were the worst i have ever had. Not enough selection, people were giving up on the toaster after 10 - 15 minutes. alot of complaints about the cold meat and frozen potatoes yes still frozen.

Adult time for the pool was adhered to by the staff which was commendable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
We're so glad to hear that the rest of your stay went well, however, we do want to apologize for the trouble you had with breakfast! Our complimentary "Be Our Guest" breakfast is certainly meant to be a bright start to your day. We regret to hear that this was not your experience. We will certainly document this for management so they can review what may have happened that morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Duluth North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.