We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite enjoyable stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Duluth North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quite enjoyable stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

No issues. My wife and I visited Duluth for a shopping weekend during the Canadian Thanksgiving.
The room was clean and the hotel was surprisingly quiet even though all rooms were occupied. We would stay here again. It was very convenient for a shopping get a way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We thank you for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We will definitely share your comments with our team, thank you. Look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    54
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
39
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Being a professional contract pilot I often travel to a city and am required to spend 10+ hours away from the airport while waiting for a passenger. This was the case with my stay at Country Inn and Suites. Very quiet, comfortable bed, fast internet, easy and fast check-in/out. What more could you want unless it would also be complementary transportation to and from the airport. A perfect day-room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We hope on your next stay that you can spend the night with us and enjoy a complimentary ride to the airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Since we booked this hotel for the convenience, we wanted to be close to the airport, it turned out better then I thought. I appreciated the close to exit parking. When I booked the room I appreciated that they asked what floor I wanted to be on. My sister appreciated the 4:30 am free ride to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
So happy we could accomodate your sister with a complimentary ride to the airport. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Staff were excellent and the hotel was clean. The complimentary breakfast provided all the varieties of food a person could want. Very handy to the Duluth airport and shuttle service was provided. Thanks for the great stay. Ken B.

Room Tip: If you are disabled ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Your review was very helpfull to us and appreciate you taking the time to write on TripAdvisor. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you agian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel was in a nice location, close to shopping and basics. Gas station and an Outback restaurant on the same block. Only about 10-15 minutes from Canal park and the lake. We chose this hotel primarily because it was moderately priced compared with the extremely high prices within Duluth, and the fact that it was pet friendly. We were there to spend time near the lake and hiking in the parks.
The rooms were clean, but starting to show wear. There were stains on the carpet and furniture. The lobby was nice, with coffee, tea, and cookies available 24 hours.
The breakfast was nice the first day (french toast, sausage, oatmeal, fresh fruit, cereal, muffins) but went downhill after that. The second day they still had fresh fruit but the eggs were powdered instead of real. The third day it was more powdered eggs, and this time instead of fresh fruit it was canned fruit cocktail. We left and went to Perkins.
The staff was pleasant and location was nice. I would stay again if we travel with our dog. Otherwise I'd probably stay nearer the water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth to take advantage of our Pet Friendly Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. My husband had a meeting at UMD which was about 10 minutes away. The reviews said it was clean and we found it to be very clean as well. The rooms in Canal Park are so high priced and staying here, you can be there in less than 15 minutes. It is just around the corner from the mall and other shopping. There are many options in the area for dining and it is right next to Gander Mountain.

The carpet was clean clear to the edges and it passed my white sock test with flying colors. There were lots of stains on the carpet and dust ruffle and tub and lots of scuffs on the walls and doors but it was clean. The air conditioner was difficult to regulate and our room was either too hot or too cold but we had it figured out by the time we went to bed. The pillows looked so nice and fluffy but squished to completely flat so my husband used 2 to make one. I travel with my own pillow so no problem for me. The bed was not very comfortable but we were only there one night. To us, clean is the main thing. Our room overlooked a very small pond - not one of MN"s 10,000 lakes but nice to look at just the same. They had a very good breakfast with a nice variety and the dining area was very clean. There was iced lemon water and coffee out in the lobby which they kept stocked.

Our only issue was the hotel shares a parking lot with Outback Steakhouse. The hotel also had a lot of groups using rooms for meetings. We got in after 7:00 and there was no parking. We had to park way across the parking lot behind Outback. The people at the front desk were not overly concerned and said we could just leave our car there for the night. But we didn't like that idea, because we knew when the restaurant closed and the meetings were over, our car would be all alone in the back of a dark parking lot. We waited a couple of hours for the meetings to be over and moved the car closer. If I were a woman traveling alone, I would not have been comfortable with this situation. They need to have clearly marked parking for guests who are staying there and insist local people using the hotel for meetings to park in Outback's parking lot. That was our only complaint. Everyone we met who worked there was very friendly. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. We have shared your comments with our team and will address all of your concerns so that your next visit with us will be a positive one. Thank you again for the review and see you next time your in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Country Inn Suites is better than the Econolodge. Both are located near the Duluth airport, and the cost is similar. Nicer facilities, nicer rooms (although starting to get dated). Neither one has a shuttle to get you anywhere, so you need a taxi if you don't have a car.

Room Tip: quiet rooms on 2nd floor far from elevator
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We truly appreciate that you took the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us. We do look forward to your next stay with us so we can show you our property and personnel at 100% guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Duluth North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.