We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always top-notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Duluth North to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
East Bethel, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always top-notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I go to Duluth on business at least a couple times a year. I have found this place to be consistently clean and comfortable. Always a nice chair to relax in, not just the office chair from the desk. I have to do hours of work on my computer in the room and they have wired and wireless internet. This morning at breakfast I had eggs benedict! And it was high quality food! Fresh cut fruit. Plus, of course all the normal breakfast things that most places have. The staff is very friendly. I can't recall ever having to call the front desk for anything, no can just count on everything being in good order. Duluth lodging can be pricey in the summer so if you're going to pay it, it's really nice to know you'll be happy with what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for chosing us when your business travels bring you to Duluth. We loved your review and will definitley share it with our staff. Thank you again, for taking the time to write this great review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    58
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
66
46
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent the weekend of August 16,17,and 18th with our two sons and families for a family wedding on the beach of Lake Superior. This location worked well for commuting to and from Park Point. The pool was the "hit" of the weekend with the kids and the slide was great fun!
I didn't expect a employee in the pool area to keep watch, but it was an added touch !
The breakfast foods were great and a real time saver for a busy weekend. Since our last names matched, we were given rooms within a few feet of each other which was great for the grandkids to visit back and forth. They loved that !! An added bonus for the parents too !

We would definitely stay here again, keep the Canal Park accommodations for those with lots of $$ to waste !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while in the Duluth area. We will definitely share you comments with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I booked a room at this Hotel heading out East on Aug 6th, 2013 and again Aug 15th, 2013 heading back.Great price and value. Exterior was well kept. Lobby was clean and staff were very friendly and efficient. Rooms were very clean. Beds were comfortable and very clean. Washrooms were clean and well supplied. Checked out pool - nice, exercise room - nice, lobby coffee and tea was convenient.
I would definintely stay here again and would recommned this hotel as a great value for your hard earned cash.

Breakfast was pretty good too.

Room Tip: you could ask to check out a room or two before comitting to a room but for us we ended up with dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review on TripAdvisor. We love to hear all the positive comments and will definitely share this with our management team and staff. Again, thank you for the review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I booked this room for 1 night stay with Family. I had a gift card for free stay from a previous Country Inn bad experience so I thought I would use it. Upon arrival we had some issues checking in after I requested rooms next to each other we got rooms across from each other so no big deal. The one room had a view of the field and the other was looking out at the outback steak house. The first room had carpeting peeling up, stains on the wall, 2nd room had numerous stains throughout the carpeting, one nasty one right in front of the bed. The room smelled, also stains on the wall. Shower was extremely slow to drain, half the tub was full of water from 10 min shower. Shower head itself was terrible. The chair was worn down to the springs and slanted to one side. The pillows were a joke, totally un-comfortable and go flat as a pancake. After the previous negative experiences at Country Inns it is safe to say that I will NEVER ! give them a chance again. Poor quality for what you pay for or maybe because I had the gift cards I was given the run down rooms. Staff did nothing to try to accommodate a better room for us.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to spend your money. The Fairfield Inn down the street would have been my pick h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor and giving us the opportunity to apologize for the negitive experience you had while a guest with us. We will definitley discuss this, and take action with our management team, especially our Housekeeping Dept. concerning the issues you had with your rooms while staying with us. Again, let me apologize for the inconveniences and know that we are addressing all of the issues from your review. This is definitely a learning experience for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are travelling with our dog, a Sheltie, and could not get into a hotel at Canal Park because of no pet policies, so we came up here. Great choice! We have a spacious suite with a jacuzzi which is VERY clean including new carpeting & furniture. Very nice people at the desk with good cookies. This is a great location away from the noise & commotion of Canal Park but yet only 5 miles away. Everything was comfortable for us and our dog. Breakfast was okay; nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us. We love pets and are really happy that we could accomodate you and your pet. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you when in the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and specifically asked for a room far away from the pool for noise reduction. We got exactly what we asked for with a corner room on the third floor. Our room was nicely tidy upon our return daily, we were not disturbed when the sign in the knob (which is NOT always the case at other hotels we've stayed in), the daily breakfast has something for (almost) everyone. If you don't want the specified hot items for the day (which can be questionable some days) there is cereal, oatmeal, fruit, toast/bagels, yogurt, donuts/muffins, and waffles as well as juice options and coffee/tea/milk. I cannot comment on the pool as we didn't use it but seemed like it was always busy. If you don't require lake front or mind driving about 10 mins into downtown Duluth, this is good bargain for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We love to hear the positive comments when our guests enjoy their stay with us. Thank you again, for the great review, and we look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth. Will definitely share this with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed only for one night at the property. We were pleasantly surprised at how quickly we were checked-in and off to our room. The young man that worked the night shift was extremely efficient and very polite.

The beds were fantastic! Had a great sleep and the pillows were extremely comfortable. The hot breakfast had a great selection of goodies, but we had a to wait a few minutes as there were a lot of people eating and the breakfast space was a little short on tables and chairs. Truly not the hotels fault, but a little annoying when you have 2 kids that will eat your arm off first thing in the morning.

Check this place out when you are passing through Duluth, you won't be disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next visit with us when in Duluth. Thank you again, for a great review, and will definitely share this with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.