We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Selkirk, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I booked a room at this Hotel heading out East on Aug 6th, 2013 and again Aug 15th, 2013 heading back.Great price and value. Exterior was well kept. Lobby was clean and staff were very friendly and efficient. Rooms were very clean. Beds were comfortable and very clean. Washrooms were clean and well supplied. Checked out pool - nice, exercise room - nice, lobby coffee and tea was convenient.
I would definintely stay here again and would recommned this hotel as a great value for your hard earned cash.

Breakfast was pretty good too.

Room Tip: you could ask to check out a room or two before comitting to a room but for us we ended up with dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review on TripAdvisor. We love to hear all the positive comments and will definitely share this with our management team and staff. Again, thank you for the review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    75
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
100
60
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I booked this room for 1 night stay with Family. I had a gift card for free stay from a previous Country Inn bad experience so I thought I would use it. Upon arrival we had some issues checking in after I requested rooms next to each other we got rooms across from each other so no big deal. The one room had a view of the field and the other was looking out at the outback steak house. The first room had carpeting peeling up, stains on the wall, 2nd room had numerous stains throughout the carpeting, one nasty one right in front of the bed. The room smelled, also stains on the wall. Shower was extremely slow to drain, half the tub was full of water from 10 min shower. Shower head itself was terrible. The chair was worn down to the springs and slanted to one side. The pillows were a joke, totally un-comfortable and go flat as a pancake. After the previous negative experiences at Country Inns it is safe to say that I will NEVER ! give them a chance again. Poor quality for what you pay for or maybe because I had the gift cards I was given the run down rooms. Staff did nothing to try to accommodate a better room for us.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to spend your money. The Fairfield Inn down the street would have been my pick h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor and giving us the opportunity to apologize for the negitive experience you had while a guest with us. We will definitley discuss this, and take action with our management team, especially our Housekeeping Dept. concerning the issues you had with your rooms while staying with us. Again, let me apologize for the inconveniences and know that we are addressing all of the issues from your review. This is definitely a learning experience for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are travelling with our dog, a Sheltie, and could not get into a hotel at Canal Park because of no pet policies, so we came up here. Great choice! We have a spacious suite with a jacuzzi which is VERY clean including new carpeting & furniture. Very nice people at the desk with good cookies. This is a great location away from the noise & commotion of Canal Park but yet only 5 miles away. Everything was comfortable for us and our dog. Breakfast was okay; nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us. We love pets and are really happy that we could accomodate you and your pet. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you when in the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and specifically asked for a room far away from the pool for noise reduction. We got exactly what we asked for with a corner room on the third floor. Our room was nicely tidy upon our return daily, we were not disturbed when the sign in the knob (which is NOT always the case at other hotels we've stayed in), the daily breakfast has something for (almost) everyone. If you don't want the specified hot items for the day (which can be questionable some days) there is cereal, oatmeal, fruit, toast/bagels, yogurt, donuts/muffins, and waffles as well as juice options and coffee/tea/milk. I cannot comment on the pool as we didn't use it but seemed like it was always busy. If you don't require lake front or mind driving about 10 mins into downtown Duluth, this is good bargain for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We love to hear the positive comments when our guests enjoy their stay with us. Thank you again, for the great review, and we look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth. Will definitely share this with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed only for one night at the property. We were pleasantly surprised at how quickly we were checked-in and off to our room. The young man that worked the night shift was extremely efficient and very polite.

The beds were fantastic! Had a great sleep and the pillows were extremely comfortable. The hot breakfast had a great selection of goodies, but we had a to wait a few minutes as there were a lot of people eating and the breakfast space was a little short on tables and chairs. Truly not the hotels fault, but a little annoying when you have 2 kids that will eat your arm off first thing in the morning.

Check this place out when you are passing through Duluth, you won't be disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next visit with us when in Duluth. Thank you again, for a great review, and will definitely share this with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with our children in hopes of spending some time in the pool area. Kids need to be 48 inches tall to use the water slide, and only one person at a time (ie parents cannot slide with a child in their lap.). Although my children met the height requirements, we were harassed by hotel staff while using the water slide. I was standing next to the slide, playing with and "catching" my kids as they landed. A hotel employee rudely informed us that parents are not able to stand next to the bottom of the slide, either. It was rather embarrassing and unnecessary.

The man at the front desk who checked us in was also rude. We were quoted a rate on the phone which was different than the rate he presented us with on arrival. I didn't have a copy of my confirmation email with me, and he offered no help. It was only a $20 difference, but again, the staff was quite rude.

The rest of the hotel was ok, except for the icy cold shower. I tried to take a shower at 8:00 am on a Sunday and there was no hot water left. Brrrrr!

I don't think we will stay here again. Too many other nicer choices available in Duluth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing on TripAdvisor and giving us the opportunity to apologize for the rude employees that you encountered while a guest at the hotel. We will definitely use this as a training tool for our employees and know that this is not our standard of service. Again, let me apologize for the negative experience and hope you will give us another try so that you can see our property and personnel at 100% guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were very happy to have this great (convenient) place to stay (with our dog). Room is exceptionally clean and doesn't have the usual doggie smell. Also quite large, compared to many other places we've stayed. Nice to have a larger-than-usual mini fridge -- and a microwave too. Good free wifi (using it right now) and easy parking. Breakfast offers a good choice: scrambled eggs, sausage and potatoes and do-it-yourself waffles, among other things. Nice touch that the plates are china. Nice and quiet, given that the airport is so close -- only one loud airplane that I was aware of. Only one issue is that the AC in our room is struggling -- clearly needs to be fixed -- but kept us relatively comfortable in spite of that. All in all, a good choice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review on TripAdvisor. So happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and a nice clean room. We look forward to your next stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
4.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.