We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Duluth North to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Duluth
Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not very clean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I booked this room for 1 night stay with Family. I had a gift card for free stay from a previous Country Inn bad experience so I thought I would use it. Upon arrival we had some issues checking in after I requested rooms next to each other we got rooms across from each other so no big deal. The one room had a view of the field and the other was looking out at the outback steak house. The first room had carpeting peeling up, stains on the wall, 2nd room had numerous stains throughout the carpeting, one nasty one right in front of the bed. The room smelled, also stains on the wall. Shower was extremely slow to drain, half the tub was full of water from 10 min shower. Shower head itself was terrible. The chair was worn down to the springs and slanted to one side. The pillows were a joke, totally un-comfortable and go flat as a pancake. After the previous negative experiences at Country Inns it is safe to say that I will NEVER ! give them a chance again. Poor quality for what you pay for or maybe because I had the gift cards I was given the run down rooms. Staff did nothing to try to accommodate a better room for us.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to spend your money. The Fairfield Inn down the street would have been my pick h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor and giving us the opportunity to apologize for the negitive experience you had while a guest with us. We will definitley discuss this, and take action with our management team, especially our Housekeeping Dept. concerning the issues you had with your rooms while staying with us. Again, let me apologize for the inconveniences and know that we are addressing all of the issues from your review. This is definitely a learning experience for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    61
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
72
51
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are travelling with our dog, a Sheltie, and could not get into a hotel at Canal Park because of no pet policies, so we came up here. Great choice! We have a spacious suite with a jacuzzi which is VERY clean including new carpeting & furniture. Very nice people at the desk with good cookies. This is a great location away from the noise & commotion of Canal Park but yet only 5 miles away. Everything was comfortable for us and our dog. Breakfast was okay; nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us. We love pets and are really happy that we could accomodate you and your pet. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you when in the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and specifically asked for a room far away from the pool for noise reduction. We got exactly what we asked for with a corner room on the third floor. Our room was nicely tidy upon our return daily, we were not disturbed when the sign in the knob (which is NOT always the case at other hotels we've stayed in), the daily breakfast has something for (almost) everyone. If you don't want the specified hot items for the day (which can be questionable some days) there is cereal, oatmeal, fruit, toast/bagels, yogurt, donuts/muffins, and waffles as well as juice options and coffee/tea/milk. I cannot comment on the pool as we didn't use it but seemed like it was always busy. If you don't require lake front or mind driving about 10 mins into downtown Duluth, this is good bargain for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We love to hear the positive comments when our guests enjoy their stay with us. Thank you again, for the great review, and we look forward to seeing you again when in Duluth. Will definitely share this with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed only for one night at the property. We were pleasantly surprised at how quickly we were checked-in and off to our room. The young man that worked the night shift was extremely efficient and very polite.

The beds were fantastic! Had a great sleep and the pillows were extremely comfortable. The hot breakfast had a great selection of goodies, but we had a to wait a few minutes as there were a lot of people eating and the breakfast space was a little short on tables and chairs. Truly not the hotels fault, but a little annoying when you have 2 kids that will eat your arm off first thing in the morning.

Check this place out when you are passing through Duluth, you won't be disapointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next visit with us when in Duluth. Thank you again, for a great review, and will definitely share this with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with our children in hopes of spending some time in the pool area. Kids need to be 48 inches tall to use the water slide, and only one person at a time (ie parents cannot slide with a child in their lap.). Although my children met the height requirements, we were harassed by hotel staff while using the water slide. I was standing next to the slide, playing with and "catching" my kids as they landed. A hotel employee rudely informed us that parents are not able to stand next to the bottom of the slide, either. It was rather embarrassing and unnecessary.

The man at the front desk who checked us in was also rude. We were quoted a rate on the phone which was different than the rate he presented us with on arrival. I didn't have a copy of my confirmation email with me, and he offered no help. It was only a $20 difference, but again, the staff was quite rude.

The rest of the hotel was ok, except for the icy cold shower. I tried to take a shower at 8:00 am on a Sunday and there was no hot water left. Brrrrr!

I don't think we will stay here again. Too many other nicer choices available in Duluth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing on TripAdvisor and giving us the opportunity to apologize for the rude employees that you encountered while a guest at the hotel. We will definitely use this as a training tool for our employees and know that this is not our standard of service. Again, let me apologize for the negative experience and hope you will give us another try so that you can see our property and personnel at 100% guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were very happy to have this great (convenient) place to stay (with our dog). Room is exceptionally clean and doesn't have the usual doggie smell. Also quite large, compared to many other places we've stayed. Nice to have a larger-than-usual mini fridge -- and a microwave too. Good free wifi (using it right now) and easy parking. Breakfast offers a good choice: scrambled eggs, sausage and potatoes and do-it-yourself waffles, among other things. Nice touch that the plates are china. Nice and quiet, given that the airport is so close -- only one loud airplane that I was aware of. Only one issue is that the AC in our room is struggling -- clearly needs to be fixed -- but kept us relatively comfortable in spite of that. All in all, a good choice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review on TripAdvisor. So happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and a nice clean room. We look forward to your next stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a biking weekend. Beds and bathroom great. Fitness center was closed, unfortunately. Breakfast had hot items and a decent variety. Coffee and cookies in lobby until late which was a nice addition. Pool until midnight which is also great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North. Truly appreciate the time you took to give us a great review on Trip
Advisor, look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#7 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.