We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff rude, no hot water, otherwise ok.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Duluth North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel staff rude, no hot water, otherwise ok.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with our children in hopes of spending some time in the pool area. Kids need to be 48 inches tall to use the water slide, and only one person at a time (ie parents cannot slide with a child in their lap.). Although my children met the height requirements, we were harassed by hotel staff while using the water slide. I was standing next to the slide, playing with and "catching" my kids as they landed. A hotel employee rudely informed us that parents are not able to stand next to the bottom of the slide, either. It was rather embarrassing and unnecessary.

The man at the front desk who checked us in was also rude. We were quoted a rate on the phone which was different than the rate he presented us with on arrival. I didn't have a copy of my confirmation email with me, and he offered no help. It was only a $20 difference, but again, the staff was quite rude.

The rest of the hotel was ok, except for the icy cold shower. I tried to take a shower at 8:00 am on a Sunday and there was no hot water left. Brrrrr!

I don't think we will stay here again. Too many other nicer choices available in Duluth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for writing on TripAdvisor and giving us the opportunity to apologize for the rude employees that you encountered while a guest at the hotel. We will definitely use this as a training tool for our employees and know that this is not our standard of service. Again, let me apologize for the negative experience and hope you will give us another try so that you can see our property and personnel at 100% guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    54
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
39
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were very happy to have this great (convenient) place to stay (with our dog). Room is exceptionally clean and doesn't have the usual doggie smell. Also quite large, compared to many other places we've stayed. Nice to have a larger-than-usual mini fridge -- and a microwave too. Good free wifi (using it right now) and easy parking. Breakfast offers a good choice: scrambled eggs, sausage and potatoes and do-it-yourself waffles, among other things. Nice touch that the plates are china. Nice and quiet, given that the airport is so close -- only one loud airplane that I was aware of. Only one issue is that the AC in our room is struggling -- clearly needs to be fixed -- but kept us relatively comfortable in spite of that. All in all, a good choice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review on TripAdvisor. So happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and a nice clean room. We look forward to your next stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a biking weekend. Beds and bathroom great. Fitness center was closed, unfortunately. Breakfast had hot items and a decent variety. Coffee and cookies in lobby until late which was a nice addition. Pool until midnight which is also great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North. Truly appreciate the time you took to give us a great review on Trip
Advisor, look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Clean, efficient, and an all around nice place to stay. I would stay here again without question. Very friendly staff. I would highly recommend staying here if your in Duluth. I've stayed at a few other places in Duluth in the past with mixed results. The room we got at the Country Inn & Suites top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submitt a review for us at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North on TripAdvisor. We were so happy to hear about your positive experience and look forward to seeing you again to enjoy our property and personnel when your travels bring you back to the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We came up for visitation and a funeral this time versus 2 days prior on emergency visit to make the aforementioned arrangements and we were forced to stay in Proctor Country Suites because of Grandmas Marathon.

Staff was wonderful at the North Duluth Country Suites. We got a phone call about 2 hours after check in to make sure everything was ok.
Room was cleaned, breakfast was nice and staff helpful when needed. I wish we had time for a swim, the pool and its slide looked like fun.
They are doing something right at this Country Suites, Im glad we didn't give up on the brand after that last stay at Country Suites Proctor.
Keep up the good work, and we may see you guys again when visiting family again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write to TripAdvisor and going the extra 15 miles. We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back up to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had stayed in a country inn & suites in Lewisbugh and were happy to discover another. The two hotels were alike but this one did not have fresh fruit at breakfast. A good sized room with fridge and two beds. Everything clean and comfy. Breakfast good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a great review on TripAdvisor. We were so happy to hear that you had a good nights rest and so sorry to hear that you missed our fresh fruit. Will definitely check with the our team to see why we were out of fruit. We do look forward to seeing you again when in the Duluth area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamego
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very nice affordable hotel.We walked in the room and it even smelled clean. Turned out the place was spotless, literally! I can't find one bad thing to say about this hotel. Be sure to take Hwy 53 East and see the view of the bay the from top of hill! Location is great if flying into airport, good food across parking lot at Outback. 5 minutes to the mall and shopping and many more restaurants. Nice staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Our team here at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North tries very hard to make sure all of our guests have a 100% positive experience with our personnel and property. We appreciate the time it took and the positive review that was posted by you on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next stay with us when your travels bring you back to Duluth, Mn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Duluth North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.