We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Duluth North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great service and close to all locations to eat and places to visit. Easy to get to and close to the airport too which I did not have to use. Great place for kids. It has a swimming pool and gym. Very clean and friendly folks, Breakfast is included and it is a healthy menu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We appreciate that you chose our hotel to stay at while in Duluth, and also especially happy that you took the time to give us a positive review on Trip Advisor. Look forward to your next visit when in Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    50
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
34
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was my first time staying here. I would go back in a heartbeat. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Never heard anyone else in the building during my entire stay. The check in/out staff wonderful and very friendly. I could not have asked for a better place to stay.

The only reason I say this is a little out of the way is that it is on the north side of Duluth and I thought a bit hard to find. Nothing that my GPS couldn't help me out with.

There are many restaurants, a grocery store and shopping nearby.

I was in town for a class at the College of St. Scholastica. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute drive from both UMD and the College of St. Scholastica. Close enough without being in the middle of college housing. Because I wasn't in town long, I didn't get a chance to use the pool or eat breakfast but both looked (and smelled, in the case of breakfast) great.

I will definitely be back here the next time I am in Duluth.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to have a room on the parking lot side. The night I stayed, I never heard anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate you staying with us and am very happy to hear that it was a positive one. The staff at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North gives 100%,and was, again, happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you agian when your travels bring you back to Duluth MN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass Lake, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Clean, comfortable and friendly - What more can you ask for? I was able to enjoy the fitness center, have a quick breakfast all before work. Easy access to many resturants and shopping. I will deffinetly chose to stay here again for my next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor. Our business clients are very importmant to us and very happy that we could fill your needs while on the road and away from home. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times, whether it be for a visit to Duluth or to stay overnight before I fly out the next day. It is in a great location, one mile away from the airport. Very comfy beds, front desk staff is nice, just a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North. We were happy to hear that you had a positive experience and look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Duluth, Mn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice clean hotel; very quiet. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Hotel is close to shopping and many restaurants; Outback Steakhouse shares the same parking lot as the hotel. Good selection for breakfast. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submitt a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North. We have a great team and try very hard to give all of our guests a 100% with our property and personnel. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future when your plans bring you back to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Minnesota Area Lutheran Marriage Encounter has been booking weekends at this location for years. We have been involved for only two years but every time we are on the presenting team and stay here we are impressed. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is great, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We held a weekend recently at the Holiday Inn in Alexandria and experienced a conference room that was not ready for us, cold (and late) food, and a multitude of other issues. We will NOT be returning to that location. Thank you to the entire staff of this fine lodge for another outstanding weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor, we do know how valuable your time is and it is always a pleasure to have your group come and stay with us, we truly enjoy it. We again, thankyou for staying with us and look forward to see you and your group again in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is great in regards to the shopping (mall, kohls, target, SAMs etc). There are lots of restaurants around and the complementary breakfast in the morning is great!! The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is great for the kids. The rooms are spacious and clean. Comfy beds. What more do you need?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We couldn't agree with you more, we think we have a wonderful hotel and are pleased to be able to supply our guests with a great product and quality service. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Duluth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Duluth North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.