We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the Way, but Worth the Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Out of the Way, but Worth the Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was my first time staying here. I would go back in a heartbeat. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Never heard anyone else in the building during my entire stay. The check in/out staff wonderful and very friendly. I could not have asked for a better place to stay.

The only reason I say this is a little out of the way is that it is on the north side of Duluth and I thought a bit hard to find. Nothing that my GPS couldn't help me out with.

There are many restaurants, a grocery store and shopping nearby.

I was in town for a class at the College of St. Scholastica. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute drive from both UMD and the College of St. Scholastica. Close enough without being in the middle of college housing. Because I wasn't in town long, I didn't get a chance to use the pool or eat breakfast but both looked (and smelled, in the case of breakfast) great.

I will definitely be back here the next time I am in Duluth.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to have a room on the parking lot side. The night I stayed, I never heard anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate you staying with us and am very happy to hear that it was a positive one. The staff at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North gives 100%,and was, again, happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you agian when your travels bring you back to Duluth MN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    77
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
103
60
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cass Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Clean, comfortable and friendly - What more can you ask for? I was able to enjoy the fitness center, have a quick breakfast all before work. Easy access to many resturants and shopping. I will deffinetly chose to stay here again for my next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor. Our business clients are very importmant to us and very happy that we could fill your needs while on the road and away from home. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times, whether it be for a visit to Duluth or to stay overnight before I fly out the next day. It is in a great location, one mile away from the airport. Very comfy beds, front desk staff is nice, just a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North. We were happy to hear that you had a positive experience and look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Duluth, Mn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nice clean hotel; very quiet. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Hotel is close to shopping and many restaurants; Outback Steakhouse shares the same parking lot as the hotel. Good selection for breakfast. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submitt a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North. We have a great team and try very hard to give all of our guests a 100% with our property and personnel. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future when your plans bring you back to Duluth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Minnesota Area Lutheran Marriage Encounter has been booking weekends at this location for years. We have been involved for only two years but every time we are on the presenting team and stay here we are impressed. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is great, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. We held a weekend recently at the Holiday Inn in Alexandria and experienced a conference room that was not ready for us, cold (and late) food, and a multitude of other issues. We will NOT be returning to that location. Thank you to the entire staff of this fine lodge for another outstanding weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor, we do know how valuable your time is and it is always a pleasure to have your group come and stay with us, we truly enjoy it. We again, thankyou for staying with us and look forward to see you and your group again in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is great in regards to the shopping (mall, kohls, target, SAMs etc). There are lots of restaurants around and the complementary breakfast in the morning is great!! The staff are friendly and helpful. The pool is great for the kids. The rooms are spacious and clean. Comfy beds. What more do you need?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We couldn't agree with you more, we think we have a wonderful hotel and are pleased to be able to supply our guests with a great product and quality service. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Four of us stayed here for one night recently on the way home to Ontario from Florida, so we arrived late and left early but all of us thought the hotel was excellent value for the money ($117 total, including taxes). The hotel room was clean and comfortable, but it's the breakfast that all of us appreciated. There is fresh fruit salad and yogurt, a big pot of made-from-scratch oatmeal and fresh make-it-yourself waffles, along with the standard breakfast cereals and bagels. And best of all there isn't a disposable dish in sight (although they are available on request). Very much a 5 star breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a great review on Trip Advisor, we truly apprciate it. We were also very happy to hear that you had a positive experience and look forward to seeing you again when you travels bring you back to Duluth. Thank you agin for choising the Country Inn & Suites Duluth North for you hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#5 of 33 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
4.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Duluth-Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Duluth
#6 Family Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.