We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't ask for better service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 10%
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't ask for better service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Took advantage of park and fly rates. On arriving back from arizona our luggage was tied up in the shute. Took over 40 min. To get luggage. The gentleman in the courtesy van waited for us all that time. Told him we would understand if he left. He said no. He would wait for us. Great service.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe__Brun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The rooms are clean, but not exceptional. Have fridges, micros, and flat screen TVs. But - the king size bed had poor back support. Perhaps the queen beds are better. Breakfast was good with lots of choices, but the breakfast area is rather small. Many people had to take tray with food and go back to their room. Staff friendly. But depending on when you stay it can be more expensive than other hotels. You can get lower price at the Comfort Inn West. Its an older property, but very well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Concord, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

When I need to get away for a day or so this is where I head. The city of Duluth it's self is a pleasure but this hotel really makes it great. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff is always kind and helpful. I love that there is a fridge and microwave in each room. The excerise area is just right for me. The breakfast is wonderful; it has a real variety of foods and they have always been well prepared. The lobby is cozy. It has books that you can borrow if you did not bring your own. There has always been tea and coffee available there even late in the evening. There is an Outback Steak House next door and behind that is a convenient gas station where snacks can be obtained. It is not far from the Miller Hill Mall. All these things make me feel welcome and well hosted. I keep coming back because they do not disappoint.

Room Tip: I have had a room on all three floors and the ones on the west end seem to be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very friendly staff. One of the main bridges connecting Duluth to Superior was closed to repairs and the desk clerk explained how we would need to detour etc. Really appreciated this. Slept great. Nice and quiet - good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marchand197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
222 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The staff are friendly, professional, and do their jobs well. My room was in outstanding condition as the property is only a year old. Can't quite understand previous review stating room was outdated. Nice little laundry area. Cozy fireplace in lobby and breakfast wait staff really hustle. If I ever get this far north again, will stay here a second time.

Room Tip: I was on the front facing parking and highway and still very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motion22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review that you posted on Tripadvisor. We opened our doors in October of 2004 and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team truely tries to make each and every one of our guest feel like they are at home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again in the future when your travels bring you back to Duluth.

Sincerely
Janet Broin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel and it;s staff understand the value of taking care of it's customers. The condition of the property is outstanding. The only miss was that the girl working the breakfast on Sunday Aug 26 was late in meeting their advertised 7 AM start time. Consequently tthe oatmeal was half cooked and everthing else was 10 to 15 minutes late. The fruit entry consisted of fruit cocktail...no apples or bananas offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel is a little dated, but clean. Rooms were nice and staff very friendly. The room charge was a little high at $149 per nite. But great access to Duluth airport. The shuttle starts later in the morning so they hire a taxi at no charge to take you to the airport. The outback steakhouse is across the parking lot, and a convenience store within walking distance.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2012dae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duluth hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth Downtown
5.1 mi away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Duluth
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Duluth
Hampton Inn Duluth
#10 of 34 in Duluth
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Inn On Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Duluth
#7 Business Hotel in Duluth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Carlson, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing