We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winner in Duluth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Duluth North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 32 hotels in Duluth
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Winner in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a great place to stay. The staff are friendly, professional, and do their jobs well. My room was in outstanding condition as the property is only a year old. Can't quite understand previous review stating room was outdated. Nice little laundry area. Cozy fireplace in lobby and breakfast wait staff really hustle. If I ever get this far north again, will stay here a second time.

Room Tip: I was on the front facing parking and highway and still very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review that you posted on Tripadvisor. We opened our doors in October of 2004 and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team truely tries to make each and every one of our guest feel like they are at home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again in the future when your travels bring you back to Duluth.

Sincerely
Janet Broin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    54
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
40
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel and it;s staff understand the value of taking care of it's customers. The condition of the property is outstanding. The only miss was that the girl working the breakfast on Sunday Aug 26 was late in meeting their advertised 7 AM start time. Consequently tthe oatmeal was half cooked and everthing else was 10 to 15 minutes late. The fruit entry consisted of fruit cocktail...no apples or bananas offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Hotel is a little dated, but clean. Rooms were nice and staff very friendly. The room charge was a little high at $149 per nite. But great access to Duluth airport. The shuttle starts later in the morning so they hire a taxi at no charge to take you to the airport. The outback steakhouse is across the parking lot, and a convenience store within walking distance.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Il
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just returned from a five-night stay at this hotel (8/5 through 8/12/2012). Would highly recommend; hotel is conveniently located. Entire hotel is spotless, staff pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast choices varied and breakfast staff made sure tables were clean and food replenished as needed. We will definitely stay at this hotel on our next visit. We don't usually sleep very well in hotels but the mattress was great and we got a good night sleep each night. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Overall a good stay. The first night the tv & internet service was down for several hours, & internet was still out the next day. So we couldn't plan our day activities. The front desk seemed irritated when questioned & I think they could have offered a small discount for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

When travelling through Duluth or taking a flight out we always stay here. The whole staff makes you feel very welcome. Make sure that you take advantage of the awesome breakfast provided by Kim from Monday to Friday (breakfast is also available on the weekend but Kim is not there). She does a fantastic job and is such a wonderful and friendly person. The Outback Steakhouse across the parking lot never fails to be great every time we eat in or get our meal "to go" to eat in our room. This hotel is also pet friendly which is an added bonus as my husband and I travel with our two dogs and they are always welcome here. The "pet friendly" rooms are extremely clean and well kept.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a very early flight to catch and decided to pick this hotel for the shuttling to the airport. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the king room. There was also a microwave and a good size fridge, along with your normal coffee pot, hairdryer, and bathroom supplies. The bed was comfortable and pack & play was great for our 2 year old. The best part was having the wonderful kiddie pool area and waterslide. The kiddie pool was 1ft deep and had a center pole that shot water up like a flower. Our 2 year loved it!
We got in around 2pm but did not know that the waterslide and flower squirter had certain turn on times. We did not ask if they could turn on, instead we went back to our room and had a late lunch. Went back at 4 and they were turned on, not sure if that is a daily timing or not?
We woke up and went to catch the shuttle and instead of the shuttle it was a taxi service but we did not have to pay for it, not sure if that is what normally happens or not?
Other than the few unexpected "hmmm" moments the room, pool, and staff were fantastic! Will be staying at again if in Duluth.

Room Tip: First floor has pool, exercise room, and vending machines in close range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Duluth North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Duluth North

Address: 4257 Haines Road, Duluth, MN 55811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Duluth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#10 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Duluth North 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Duluth North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Duluth North Hotel Duluth
Country Inn And Suites Duluth North
Country Inn Duluth
Duluth Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Duluth North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.