We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and clean, but not well maintained” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Shore Cottages

North Shore Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Duluth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Shore Cottages
7717 North Shore, Scenic Drive, Duluth, MN 55804   |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small and clean, but not well maintained”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Based on the review I'd read here on TripAdvisor, as well as the photos on North Shore Cottages website, I anticipated the lodgings to be small, a bit dated, but clean, quaint, and well maintained. And they were, in fact, all of those things, with the exception of well maintained. Chipping paint and water stained and drooping ceilings were difficult to overlook. The deck was very small, and the shower in the bathroom was just a plastic stall shower.

None of this was enough to make me want to demand my money back or anything, but I was a bit disappointed. I was expected the cottages to be kept up more than they were. That being said, the owner was very pleasant, the bed was comfortable, and the location was great. Not sure that I'd recommend this to anybody for the price that we paid for it, and I probably wouldn't stay here again, but it wasn't a total dive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I love these cottages. They are small and simple, and exactly what I want. Unobstructed views of Lake Superior, quiet, comfy beds. Bathrooms are small but hot water is instantaneous. Coffee maker, fridge, microwave...what else do you need? Quick drive into Duluth, but you feel away from it all. A great bargain!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We stayed here because - fortunately - hotels right in Duluth were full (for the Tall Ships event). This was wonderfully lucky. I echo all of the observations of earlier reviews. Each cabin looks like a duplex - but on the inside, it is a bedroom, a "living room", and a bathroom and tiny kitchen set-up (i.e., frig, microwave, sink) in between. We didn't get to try the fire pit but noted the free firewood still available. The TV is digital reception; I had to use the remote and have the TV rescan the airwaves to get the half-dozen or so channels, so that is basic but the TV is flatscreen. Better is the fact that a DVD player is attached and about a dozen DVD movies were stashed in the TV stand for free guest use. There is also a basket of magazines to leaf through. The living area had a couch and an easy chair. The bed was very comfortable. Lovely stay. I hope to come back. (It looked like maybe the place is up for sale...hope new owners keep it as well maintained.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Mn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The cabins are cute, clean, and just a all around nice place to stay.
The owners are there IF you need/want anything but they let you relax and just enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

My husband and I stayed in a cabin for a 4 day weekend. We were able to book a few weeks before our trip. This was important to us, as our mini vacations are usually spontanious. The cabin was clean and charming with a comfortable bed. The grounds were lovely, you can access the beach accross the road, you have to climb a bit, but it's lovely.
The location is convienient to drive back to Duluth to do the many fun things available there...harbor cruises, museums, Port Authority, restaurant's etc. We also drove up to Grand Marais one day for a day trip which was also convienient.
In the evening we'd enjoy the free firewood which was really a bonus, not to have to find a place nearby to buy it and haul it back in the car. Each cabin had a fire-ring and it was so pretty at night to sit out and enjoy the fire and look out over the lawn at the moonlight on Lake Superior.
The staff was helpful and pleasant and non-intrusive.
I'd recommend this to anyone wanting a nice cozy place to stay off the lake!

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2004

We booked a cabin for 2 a week before we wanted to come up to the Duluth/North Shore area for a weekend.
We drove up on a Friday afternoon to the Duluth area. North Shore Cottages are just north of Duluth right on Scenic 61 about 1/2 mile north of the split of Hwy 61 and Scenic 61. The cottages are on the left side.

Checking in was quick and staff is very friendly. Family owned and I felt welcomed as soon as we walked into the office.

The cabins all face the lake. Some small cabins and a few multi room cabins ideal for families. Each have a parking space with well groomed grounds with cute decorations. Many fire pits for bonfires and the firewood was FREE! (a plus when you're expecting to pay $5 a bundle)

The cabins are very clean and rustic looking. Some have kitchenettes with a small fridge and microwave. Each cabin has it's own charm but all are updated. Each cabin also had a small BBQ grill and outdoor chairs for relaxing.

At night was very qyiet and soothing to hear the waves splash on the shores as ships drift by in the night.

North Shore Cottages is very close to Duluth while right on Scenic 61 so just a hop skip and jump to Two Harbors.

Plenty of gift shops and cafe's just mins away by car. Holiday gas station is close in case you need last minute goodies.

Staff was wonderful, awesome views and plenty of space regardless if it is a family gathering or a couple's getaway!

We stayed on a weekend and for the 2 of us in a small cabin we paid $59 per night plus tax. Price depnds on what cabin you get and what time of year it is.

We checked out the website and seen some of the pictures first, but the pictures just don't give the cabins and surroundings justice. www.northshorecottages.com

Good time for a great price!

As a former Carlson Wagonlit Travel agent, I rate this propert a 9 out of 10!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Shore Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Cottages

Address: 7717 North Shore, Scenic Drive, Duluth, MN 55804
Location: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty lodging in Duluth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
North Shore Cottages Hotel Duluth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Shore Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added North Shore Cottages to your Saves list