We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Woods Grill & Bar

Black Woods Grill & Bar
2525 London Road, Duluth, MN 55812
+1 218-724-1612
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Woods Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 238 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is fine dining for everyone. A place where you'll find a favorite dish and a dining experience that fits your personality. All Black Woods restaurants feature a full bar and Happy Hour specials. Visit us in Duluth, Proctor or Two Harbors.
Sioux Falls
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I find a lot of my restaurants on tripadvisor and this one didn't let me down. I had the Ahi Tuna and it was done perfectly, not overcooked like I frequently get. Flavorful sauce and vegetable accompanied the meal. Nice view from restaurant even if it wan't right on the lake. Others in my dining party loved there food as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelpartner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We greatly appreciate your business to Black Woods and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Black Woods popped up on TripAdvisor as being near our location as we traveled through town, so we decided to give it a try for lunch. We were pleased - the atmosphere is cozy, the food delicious, the service efficient, and the prices were reasonable. There's also a great view of Lake Superior.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheOwlReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable Surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I went to the Black Woods for the first time. We had the blackened Walleye and London Road Broil. Both were quite good and were visually pleasing. The surroundings were a little noisy but the decor brought us back to a comfortable pub (dark wood and dark furniture. We plan to visit this again when we are back in Duluth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you at Black Woods again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We always go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have dined at Blackwoods in Duluth countless times because of the excellence of well, everything, and did so recently and again... Wow!
We had Nicole as a server and she did an outstanding job with attentiveness, accuracy, accommodations, friendliness and overall professionalism... Blackwoods should be proud!
We ordered two flatbreads, two walleyes, a salad and the meatloaf- all excellent choices! I would definitely pick this as a top favorite in Duluth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so kindly for your wonderful review and comments! We are so grateful for your continued business to Black Woods and our entire staff looks forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The specials are to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprise at the quality of the food. What a Bargin. The service is excellent The food is very delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank northwoodsbill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Woods Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Woods Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing