We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Woods Grill & Bar

Black Woods Grill & Bar
2525 London Rd, Duluth, MN 55812-2224
218-724-1612
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is fine dining for everyone. A place where you'll find a favorite dish and a dining experience that fits your personality. All Black Woods restaurants feature a full bar and Happy Hour specials. Visit us in Duluth, Proctor or Two Harbors.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overall very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Food good, portions great, price reasonable, staff excellent (my son was very pleased with Jenna, who was clearly well trained for her first day!). The atmosphere was relaxed with well appointed decor. Some fine beer on tap, but as a driver and passing through town, would have appreciated a half pint size(my poor wife had to have half an Edmund Fitzgerald porter).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and review. We greatly appreciate your business to our local restaurant. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    71
    32
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knob Noster, Missouri
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good but Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and 20 yr old daughter ate here on a week night. The service was a little slow, but staff was mostly friendly. The best part of the meal was our appetizer: a flat bread "pizza" with figs and blue cheese. I know it sounds a little weird, but it was excellent! I would go back just for that appetizer. Our meals were also tasty--we were very satisfied--until the bill came. I thought it was pricey for just the three of us in a casual restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and honesty. We greatly appreciate your business to Black Woods and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is our first visit to Black Woods and I'm so glad we stopped on our way home to St. Paul. I had the rotisserie chicken, served with corn bread, mashed potatoes and beans and it was delish! Our daughter had the "build your own sundae" at the end of the meal and of course she couldn't stop talking about it. I loved the large selection of healthy food choices on the kids menu. We will return the next time we are in town...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we are also so thankful you stopped at our restaurant! We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great staff! Welcoming atmosphere! Fabulous Food! (Salmon and Pot Roast are what we ordered and they were wonderful!) Fair Prices!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic. .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, food, and atmosphere. Cant wait to go back. Definately want to be thers on a wednesday for live Jazz. We werent unfortunately. The lunches looked amazing as well..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Marketing Director at Black Woods Grill & Bar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
Greatly appreciate your business to Black Woods and look forward to seeing you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Woods Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Black Woods Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Woods Grill & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.