We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue
403 N Central Ave, Duluth, MN 55807-2502
(218) 628-2327
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 230 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hands down, the best pizza around. They use homemade sausage which is the size of small meatballs on your pizza. The crust is thin and crispy without being hard. Definitely a must have on your trip to Duluth. There's also a location not far from Canal Park.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A must stop on a Duluth visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

No trip is complete without Sammy's at least once during your stay. I usually hit it 2-3 times in a 5 day stay. Gotta get my Sammy's fix. My family has been eating this pizza for over 40 years! Nothing else compares. The prices are a bit high, but mmmmmmmm so worth it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Best pizza, spaghetti, deep fried cauliflower, this restaurant has amazing food! Inside is a little cramped, service is ok, but the food is outstanding! I highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Went to Sammy's with the parents and players from our peewee hockey team for lunch. Several locals and 20 kids with parents filled the place. Great experience and super food for a very reasonable price. Wait staff and kitchen staff made the team at home. Well done Cloquet Sammy's!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We love Sammy's and our last trip there was no different. Yummy bread sticks, the boys had pasta and loved the great portions (filled teenage boys up). We ordered the House Special on Wheat--amazing, like always! Great service and wonderful food. Highly recommend this restaurant!! It is the taste of Duluth, for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.