We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian food in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue
403 N Central Ave, Duluth, MN 55807-2502
(218) 628-2327
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 227 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Duluth, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Best pizza, spaghetti, deep fried cauliflower, this restaurant has amazing food! Inside is a little cramped, service is ok, but the food is outstanding! I highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Went to Sammy's with the parents and players from our peewee hockey team for lunch. Several locals and 20 kids with parents filled the place. Great experience and super food for a very reasonable price. Wait staff and kitchen staff made the team at home. Well done Cloquet Sammy's!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We love Sammy's and our last trip there was no different. Yummy bread sticks, the boys had pasta and loved the great portions (filled teenage boys up). We ordered the House Special on Wheat--amazing, like always! Great service and wonderful food. Highly recommend this restaurant!! It is the taste of Duluth, for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pizza is good but not the best ever like they claim. I will say though if ya have food allergies the staff is so knowalagable. We had the veggie and added Itailan pork on top. It was the best. Wish there were more crust though and sauce.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

fabulous crust, sauce. Highly recommend this pizza. We took ours to go, but it is a nice spot if you wish to eat in.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.