We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue
403 N Central Ave, Duluth, MN 55807-2502
(218) 628-2327
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We love Sammy's and our last trip there was no different. Yummy bread sticks, the boys had pasta and loved the great portions (filled teenage boys up). We ordered the House Special on Wheat--amazing, like always! Great service and wonderful food. Highly recommend this restaurant!! It is the taste of Duluth, for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pizza is good but not the best ever like they claim. I will say though if ya have food allergies the staff is so knowalagable. We had the veggie and added Itailan pork on top. It was the best. Wish there were more crust though and sauce.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

fabulous crust, sauce. Highly recommend this pizza. We took ours to go, but it is a nice spot if you wish to eat in.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“SAMMY'S PIZZA IS STILL THE BEST EVEN AFTER 55+ YEARS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have since moved away from Duluth MN. but we do come back for a visit every so oftern and remembering the great taste of a Sammy's Pizza brings us back there on everyone of our visits over the past 28 years. We go to the one in West Duluth because the original owners were my cousins even though all the others have the same recipe.

I've had pizza pretty much all over the USA and Italy. I have to say they have one of the best tasting crspy crust pizzas you will find anywhere. We love the ground beef with onions and no matter where we go no one can duplicate the taste we get out of a SAMMY'S PIZZA with the same ingredients!! This time around we went there twice because our motto is don't reinvent the wheel of food when a place is working for you. Ciao Bello mi amicis

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The pizza is cut in odd little squares.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Maybe it is just a regional thing, but doesn't most pizza places have supreme pizzas? Well, not here. We were suggested to get the house special. It came with salami on it - in fact, salami was on several of the pizzas. It was just an odd taste and texture. Pepperoni, yes - Salami, no.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza - Central Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.