We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza - Lakeside

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sammy's Pizza - Lakeside
4631 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55804
(218) 525-6604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Pizza I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have been stopping here on my way north for almost 15 years. Stop a couple of times a month in the summer and have never been disappointed. The place has a few tables, but is mostly a carry-out place. They have always provided great service and makes the best thin crust pizza I have ever had, even compared to the other Sammy's in the chain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We love our Neighborhood Sammy's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It been part of a # of our traditions over the yrs, football, day after Christmas and of course a few birthdays. The service is excellent, on time and usually hot. Oh and the best deal is the spaghetti meal for 4. Love those meatballs!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OLD SALT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Duluth is a seafaring town with a great history of ships and shipping and sailors and sailing. Sammy's fits right in with it's 50-year tradition of serving Italian food. However, the one thing Sammy's could learn is that oversalting should be left to the ocean or the Salton Sea in SoCal. Lake Superior is, after all, "a fresh water sea in the middle of the continent" as Rudyard Kipling said.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Duluth folks... not so sure about your tastes...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sammy's is fine. Amazing? No. Want to support a small business and get something to eat? It's a good choice. It has a nice thin crust, but isn't really something to write home about. I've had pizza in Italy, New York, Chicago, and everywhere in between and I don't believe pizza needs to be a certain way to be good. I just view it as different kinds (I even have a place in my heart for frozen pizza). It is fine. A good stop by on the way home from work, but not somewhere I would want to eat for my birthday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Pizza & Good Breadsticks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I loved having a website to order from, I disliked having a website with no phone numbers (including area code) to order from. I called to order to a hotel and the man on the phone was great when I'd asked for their specials.

I'd ordered a special where I got breadsticks for $0.99 when I ordered a large. They told me they'd be to the hotel in less then 45 minutes and they were. The delivery guy was nice and gracious when I tipped him.

Our pizza looked fantastic and tasted great also. It was still hot and not soggy. The crust could've been a little crispier and it'd have been a perfect pizza. The breadsticks were basic and served with a side of sauce. Nothing fancy but they were good.

I'd order from them again passing though town.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza - Lakeside also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza - Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.