We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza & Good Breadsticks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza - Lakeside

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sammy's Pizza - Lakeside
4631 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55804
(218) 525-6604
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 199 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Mankato, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Pizza & Good Breadsticks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I loved having a website to order from, I disliked having a website with no phone numbers (including area code) to order from. I called to order to a hotel and the man on the phone was great when I'd asked for their specials.

I'd ordered a special where I got breadsticks for $0.99 when I ordered a large. They told me they'd be to the hotel in less then 45 minutes and they were. The delivery guy was nice and gracious when I tipped him.

Our pizza looked fantastic and tasted great also. It was still hot and not soggy. The crust could've been a little crispier and it'd have been a perfect pizza. The breadsticks were basic and served with a side of sauce. Nothing fancy but they were good.

I'd order from them again passing though town.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My wife and I had pizza when we were on our honeymoon at the AG Thomson House..This is my wifes first time having Sammys Pizza and after the first bite she was hooked..In the 5 days we were there we had pizza 3 times i think that pretty much explains it all..I grew up in Duluth and i must say I always remeber eating pizza from Sammys after a cold nihgt at hockey practice ..We love you Sammys we will be back this fall

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We have been ordering pizza from Sammy's for years. The thin crust is excellent and the sauce is good too, but I usually add a little crushed red pepper to spice it up a bit. Their taco pizza is superb (I once ate an entire medium taco pizza in one sitting, and I am six feet tall and 165 pounds...not a huge eater....but it was that good!) If you are in Duluth and hungry for pizza, Sammy's is a must! We live in the Twin Cities and no longer buy typical frozen pizzas. Instead, we stop at Sammy's in Coon Rapids or Brooklyn Park and pick up 7 or 8 frozen pies. Try it and you will never settle for Tombstone again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best in duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is probably one of the best pizza restaurants in Minnesota, their pizzas have very thin crust and they are salty. The tomato sauce is really great and the service is not bad and nice friendly owner

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“No reason to go anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Sammy's Pizza in Lakeside is the best. There is no reason, and you should be looked down upon of you go anywhere else.

It is absolutely amazing.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza - Lakeside also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza - Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza - Lakeside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.