We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swedish Pancakes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Cafe

Sunshine Cafe
5719 Grand Ave, Duluth, MN 55807-2541
218-624-7013
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 197 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Swedish Pancakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We love this place! Swedish Pancakes are amazing! I agree with the cheese comment; I had the breakfast sandwich once and it was totally American cheap cheese (but still pretty good). Reasonable, homey and really fun "diner" atmosphere with lots of fun decorations and fantastic service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just found this gem in West Duluth across from the KMart. Great food, service and reasonably priced. Great place for breakfast or anytime!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great breakfast? Will Keep Looking...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Was looking for that great "mom and pop" breakfast place to enjoy a hearty meal. This place fit the bill for the most part. We both had omelets, which were pretty good. However, the cheese was like a Kraft/Velveeta type cheese. And the grapefruit juice was a "grapefruit drink" rather than juice. A little more quality and this place would be stellar. Will probably try another place next time we visit Duluth.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The owner is soo sweet. Loved her. Very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast was amazing. I had a veggie omelette that tasted very fresh and light. I didn't feel bad eating it. Will come back soon I hope.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The lightest, melt in your mouth omelet around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Steve whips up real whole eggs from scratch, one order at a time in a stainless steel bowl. No prepackaged, premixed, Frank-en-eggs for him. So when your omelet arrives filling up your plate, piping hot, stuffed full of your choice of ingredients, the eggs are feather light, gently, perfectly cooked, tasting of real butter. He also precooks the filling ingredients so you aren't eating raw vegetables and unheated ham. I get the "Everything" omelet with the hash browns on the inside. The ham chunks are large, about an inch square, lightly fried so they are still juicy and tender and hot and the hash browns are nice and browned, but soft and moo-she with real butter flavor and hot and those veges are cooked just right and hot. All that nice warm filling makes the cheese really melty and your first bite is like omelet nirvana and then the nice warm food heads right for your stomach and warms you up all over. You know when you get an omelet like that, how it makes your day a little brighter? I'm convinced that's why they call it the Sunshine Cafe! Thanks Young A and Steve, for making my Saturdays a little brighter!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sunshine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.