We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Grill

Duluth Grill
118 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1822
218-726-1150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 227 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Minnesota
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have been going to Duluth for well over 20 years and had never heard of this restaurant. We found it through tripadvisor and thought we would give it a try and we are so glad we did! My husband had the pasty and I had the Lake Superior whitefish. We split a smoothie and a piece of the banana cream layer cake. We could hardly waddle out of the place! Everything was so fresh and we appreciate that they take care to offer organic and locally grown selections. There is a large gluten-free section as well. It is good we don't live closer because we would eat there all the time. I mean ALL the time. Evidently a lot of people agree because it was jam packed on a Thursday night and several people waiting. Our waiter was very good, and the restaurant was very clean even with the number of people there. If you are in Duluth you have to try this restaurant!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    117
    36
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“GREAT experience at the Duluth Grill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our daughter and grandson! Not a fancy looking place, so you feel at home dressed casually. The service by Josh was great and he was prompt in taking our order and we did not wait long for our food. I had the Pasty--a flaky crust shaped like a Calzone and filled with beef, onions, carrots, etc. It was served with a bowl of wonderful brown gravy to pour over the Pasty, but I just dipped in it! It also came with another choice of a side, and I had a cranberry coleslaw, which was also good! My husband had the meatloaf that was served with squished (!) red potatoes that looked as though they had been browned. He chose a green bean casserole served in a ramekin with onion straws on top, and also fresh bread that tasted home made. We decided to splurge and have their banana cream pie! NEVER have had any banana cream pie that good and I am a pie maker! It was not a slice of pie but a small flaky crust pie with home made vanilla filling and a whole banana sliced in and around it! It was topped with fresh whipped cream and the plate presentation was wonderful! The pie was served by one of the owners that told us of how they used all local ingredients. Our waiter Josh was the best! SO friendly and actually enjoyed answering our questions! He told us that as a customer he was so impressed with how the owners treated their employees that he decided he wanted to work for them! He is definitely an asset to the business! Will return again when we're in the area! You will enjoy this dining experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneota mn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Everything is made from scratch and mostly organic. I have alot of allergies they were super nice in checking everything for me to be sure i could have it. We ate there twice in two days. Breakfast was my favorite with homemade rasberry jam and real maple syrup. Everyone was friendly and it was a home like feeling while there. GREAT PLACE!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A reinvented Duluth Grill wows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We hadn't stopped at the Duluth Grill in several years, having heard it was out of business. When we found it was open again we made it our first stop on a recent trip up North and were VERY glad we did.

The old Grill was mostly a classic diner with good hearty food at decent prices.

The newly re-invented Duluth Grill is an alternative locally sourced restaurant (yes, they DO grow vegetables in their parking lot) with delicious filling foods to suit many palates and diets.

Two of our party enjoyed the fish fry with beer battered french fries. I had the three meat lasagna. Everyone loved their food. Portions were big, flavors were excellent and service was very friendly. We even got a complementary piece of cake because one of us had a birthday.

There were many favorites items on the menu and many new and interesting slants on classic dishes.We could have all gone vegan or gluten free if desired. It was hard to choose a selection because so much of the menu sounded good.

We all loved the reborn Duluth Grill and will be stopping there again many times (just off I-35 at the 27th Avenue exit).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The City of Duluth should be proud of its namesake grill.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a place where quality and economy meet and excel! We had the Pasty, a northern's delight. The coleslaw side (two types available) was tasty and fresh.
Now for dessert...Members of our party tried the chocolate cake, coconut pie, banana layer cake and pumpkin spice cake. WOW! The cakes were not too sweet. In fact, the cake part of the banana layer cake was closer to banana bread; but still tasted wonderful. The kid's menu was also very good, with quality food beyond the normal corn dog nonsense.
I highly recommend this restaurant on basis of quality, service and reasonable cost.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.