We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Grill

Duluth Grill
118 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1822
218-726-1150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 199 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American, Organic, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Excellent, from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We were given this restaurant by several locals as a suggestion for our last dinner in Duluth. That was a mistake. We should have went our first night in town so we could have gone back before we left town!! The place was busy, especially for a Weds night at 5 pm. Lots of locals. So expect to wait if you go for a later dinner, or on a weekend. I had the fish tacos. Very very good. Almost as good as the fish tacos I had while living on the East coast! My dining partner had the bison burger and it was also delicious. Our server was very friendly as were all the other staff. It was really neat to see the kitchen at work from the dining room, looking like a well-oiled machine. The restaurant is big on supporting local farmers, even growing some of their own produce in the parking lot! They are also in the process of putting in a rain garden this summer which will not only provide more produce, but help protect the local watershed. This is a restaurant with a purpose, and I love that. We also sampled one of their famous pies, key lime, it was also fantastic. Prices were very reasonable for the quality of the food. Would highly recommend this restaurant, it is one of my new favorites in Duluth!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    136
    42
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Cozy rainy day breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was such a cozy place. Great service. Piping hot coffee in pottery mugs. The eggs benedict was one of the best I have ever had. Organic eggs were delicious. Smoked salmon omelette was also very good. Definitely going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had heard rumours that this was a good restaurant to eat at in Duluth and I read a review in the local magazine in the hotel room. We stopped in for lunch... it was very full, but we only had to wait about 10 minutes for a table.
The service was fast and friendly and the menu was extensive with vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. I loved that the wait-staff had t-shirts that said "fresh organic produce straight from our parking lot" or something along those lines...they literally have a garden in the parking lot!
I can't wait to go back to Duluth to go here again and highly recommend it to all of my friends and anyone else!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I tried the Duluth Grille from a recommendation from someone I know and my friend and I were really impressed. I had the turkey burger i ordered it medium well, so it wouldn't be dried out. Added tobasco sauce.....all I can say is yummy! The beer battered French fries were also delicious. I am not a fan of their "homemade ketchup" I am a Heinz girl. My friend got the Thai burger and the peanut sauce was tasty and she said it was a really good combination of items. We both loved that the restaurant supports local farmers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“yum. plain and simple.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We tried this place from a recommendation (then realized it was featured on triple D). I had Beer battered french fries, tender juicy beef topped with tasty fixings. My wife had the mac and cheese. We were spending a couple of days in Duluth so we hit this place again the next day cuz we had enjoyed it so much the day before. I could keep writing and writing but really there is nothing more I can say....the reviews are all raving, and we can't all be wrong. Just go there. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.