We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Duluth?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Grill

Duluth Grill
118 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1822
218-726-1150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Duluth?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Edible food but not worthy of a "best of declaration". Duluth Superior magazine rated this place Duluth's best restaurant. Bland and just O.K. I think that if a truly talented chef opened a restaurant in Duluth they would have no problem blowing the competition out of the water.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    106
    36
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Guy was right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My Mother in law took me here after I was telling her I wanted to try their banana cream pie after watching "Triple D". I had a chicken wrap and we shared the banana cream pie. The chicken wrap was very tasty and the pe was absolutely wonderful!. Friendly wait staff and from their local news, the owner is wonderful to his patrons and will stand up for them. And from a parent of a special needs child...this is our kind of business! It is worth the trip even if it is for only pie!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“New favorite restaurant. Fresh food friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We found this restaurant from Diners, Drive in and Dives. Fresh local grown-in the summer that includes the roof top and parking lot gardens. This is a restaurant that cares about every aspect from great customer service, healthy food, creative menu, fresh food, clean restaurant to amazing flavors. We ate here twice during our 4 day stay in Duluth. The staff is competent, friendly and efficient. Everything we had was delicious and we have 6 people in our family we had appetizers and desserts as well, I have to say the banana pie topped desserts followed closely by apple crisp then blueberry pie. Scotch eggs were a hit with a great dipping sauce. French fries and onion rings were great. Also enjoyed burgers, fish tacos, gyros, huervo rancheros, pastie, skillet. Everything was great. We also bought the cook book. Our kids aged 8-15. All found lots of great choices. The owner and his son took the time to chat with us. We felt like old friends with the staff here. We will return back here without a doubt. Enjoy your experience as we did.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food, family friendly, organic great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. They grow some of their own vegetables, serve only organic food, and are family friendly. They have great tasting food--breakfast served all day, diner classics like Mac n cheese, burgers, as well as some higher end entrees. Best place in Duluth!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Duluth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I live in Duluth, and this is my favorite place to eat. In the summer, much of the greens and herbs are grown right in the parking lot. Everything is organic and as local as possible. And their food's just amazing... It's my favorite place to take my Mom when she comes to town because she once walked in and said "Oh, THIS place! This is where the food tastes good!" And my Mom adds that their Gluten-free menu is celiac safe!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.