We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Hot and Real” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Grill

Duluth Grill
118 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1822
218-726-1150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 238 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Minnesnowta
Level Contributor
146 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Its Hot and Real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Duluth Grill was a great afternoon stop for us. Arriving around 2:30 p.m. on Friday, the good sized restaurant was jammed, but we were quickly and pleasantly accomodated. We shared one of their famed Pastie sandwiches ($10) and a Superior whitefish dinner ($14). Another ordered a vegetable soup which seemed as large as the Caspian Sea. We enjoyed every bit of the entrees and their creative accompaniments. While shopping for some items to commemorate our diner find in Duluth, we happened to meet the owner. He was very friendly and informative, and his commitment to his customers, food, employees and suppliers was evident. Our server was also as friendly as she was efficient. They actually grow some of their foods and otherwise source as much locally as possible. Their main suppliers are listed on the menu. We were also appreciative to learn that they provided health benefits to employees working at least 16 hours a week as well as provide a retirement match. This is truly a place to dine in good conscience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Minnesnowtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ammmaaaazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The atmosphere is fun, the staff knows what they are doing, and the menu is delicious. Everything you eat tastes fresh because it is. Local products make the flavors so tasty!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mirpapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent, unique food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've visited Duluth Grill before and returned recently with several friends. Every time we've eaten here, the food has been excellent, with great choices that include organic, gluten free, and natural options. The service has been very good to great every time, but the restaurant does get packed out, so expect to spend a little more time there. During this last visit, we ate there twice and called ahead about 15 minutes before our arrival both times. I highly recommend calling ahead, as we were seated within a couple of minutes of our arrival, rather than having to wait for a table as others were doing. The restaurant doesn't really have any "ambiance", since it is so crowded and noisy, but the food is well worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TerriKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“SO good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family visited the Duluth Grill and fell in love- the menu was huge, the food was fresh and delicious and everything (including the service) was fantastic! New favorite for sure... :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beyond expectations!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow!!!! Got here on a Thursday shortly after noon and they were packed. Wait was about 20 minutes but willing to wait. They pushed two tables together for our group of 6 and Allison was our very friendly server.

She immediately brought waters, little covered cups for the kids, and got our drink orders. She came back and talked about the menus highlights!! From personal favorites to bestsellers!! Allison gets 10 stars if possible!!

Once we ordered the portions were huge!!! We all shared samples of the others meals and we were even delighted by the homemade sauces.(ketchup, ranch,bbq, and tartar)

We indulged in desserts and pushed our stomachs to the limit. Homemade shakes for the kids and two desserts to share for the adults. The banana creme pie certainly lives up to the hype!!

Allison poured us all fresh refills in to go cups knowing we had a two hour drive. She deserved her tip and then some. On our way out she talked my wife into buying the Duluth grill cook book. She got hugs and kisses from the kiddos!

This is now on the itinerary EVERY Duluth trip!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wuitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duluth Grill also viewed

 

Been to Duluth Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing