We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Hot and Real” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Grill

Duluth Grill
118 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1822
218-726-1150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Minnesnowta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Its Hot and Real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Duluth Grill was a great afternoon stop for us. Arriving around 2:30 p.m. on Friday, the good sized restaurant was jammed, but we were quickly and pleasantly accomodated. We shared one of their famed Pastie sandwiches ($10) and a Superior whitefish dinner ($14). Another ordered a vegetable soup which seemed as large as the Caspian Sea. We enjoyed every bit of the entrees and their creative accompaniments. While shopping for some items to commemorate our diner find in Duluth, we happened to meet the owner. He was very friendly and informative, and his commitment to his customers, food, employees and suppliers was evident. Our server was also as friendly as she was efficient. They actually grow some of their foods and otherwise source as much locally as possible. Their main suppliers are listed on the menu. We were also appreciative to learn that they provided health benefits to employees working at least 16 hours a week as well as provide a retirement match. This is truly a place to dine in good conscience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    327
    93
    28
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ammmaaaazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The atmosphere is fun, the staff knows what they are doing, and the menu is delicious. Everything you eat tastes fresh because it is. Local products make the flavors so tasty!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent, unique food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've visited Duluth Grill before and returned recently with several friends. Every time we've eaten here, the food has been excellent, with great choices that include organic, gluten free, and natural options. The service has been very good to great every time, but the restaurant does get packed out, so expect to spend a little more time there. During this last visit, we ate there twice and called ahead about 15 minutes before our arrival both times. I highly recommend calling ahead, as we were seated within a couple of minutes of our arrival, rather than having to wait for a table as others were doing. The restaurant doesn't really have any "ambiance", since it is so crowded and noisy, but the food is well worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“SO good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family visited the Duluth Grill and fell in love- the menu was huge, the food was fresh and delicious and everything (including the service) was fantastic! New favorite for sure... :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beyond expectations!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Wow!!!! Got here on a Thursday shortly after noon and they were packed. Wait was about 20 minutes but willing to wait. They pushed two tables together for our group of 6 and Allison was our very friendly server.

She immediately brought waters, little covered cups for the kids, and got our drink orders. She came back and talked about the menus highlights!! From personal favorites to bestsellers!! Allison gets 10 stars if possible!!

Once we ordered the portions were huge!!! We all shared samples of the others meals and we were even delighted by the homemade sauces.(ketchup, ranch,bbq, and tartar)

We indulged in desserts and pushed our stomachs to the limit. Homemade shakes for the kids and two desserts to share for the adults. The banana creme pie certainly lives up to the hype!!

Allison poured us all fresh refills in to go cups knowing we had a two hour drive. She deserved her tip and then some. On our way out she talked my wife into buying the Duluth grill cook book. She got hugs and kisses from the kiddos!

This is now on the itinerary EVERY Duluth trip!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.