We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, unique food, reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Grill

Duluth Grill
118 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1822
218-726-1150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 227 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent, unique food, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've visited Duluth Grill before and returned recently with several friends. Every time we've eaten here, the food has been excellent, with great choices that include organic, gluten free, and natural options. The service has been very good to great every time, but the restaurant does get packed out, so expect to spend a little more time there. During this last visit, we ate there twice and called ahead about 15 minutes before our arrival both times. I highly recommend calling ahead, as we were seated within a couple of minutes of our arrival, rather than having to wait for a table as others were doing. The restaurant doesn't really have any "ambiance", since it is so crowded and noisy, but the food is well worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    117
    36
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“SO good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family visited the Duluth Grill and fell in love- the menu was huge, the food was fresh and delicious and everything (including the service) was fantastic! New favorite for sure... :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beyond expectations!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Wow!!!! Got here on a Thursday shortly after noon and they were packed. Wait was about 20 minutes but willing to wait. They pushed two tables together for our group of 6 and Allison was our very friendly server.

She immediately brought waters, little covered cups for the kids, and got our drink orders. She came back and talked about the menus highlights!! From personal favorites to bestsellers!! Allison gets 10 stars if possible!!

Once we ordered the portions were huge!!! We all shared samples of the others meals and we were even delighted by the homemade sauces.(ketchup, ranch,bbq, and tartar)

We indulged in desserts and pushed our stomachs to the limit. Homemade shakes for the kids and two desserts to share for the adults. The banana creme pie certainly lives up to the hype!!

Allison poured us all fresh refills in to go cups knowing we had a two hour drive. She deserved her tip and then some. On our way out she talked my wife into buying the Duluth grill cook book. She got hugs and kisses from the kiddos!

This is now on the itinerary EVERY Duluth trip!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“How Did we miss this for all these years?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our son has lived in Duluth since 2006 and until a friend took him to the Duluth Grill recently, we had never heard of this fantastic restaurant. The restaurant was busy when we arrived at about 1 pm so we had to wait but not long; it gave me a chance to look at the handmade mugs and cookbook. It was hard to decide what to order since the menu is extensive. We each ordered something different plus an appetizer and everything was delicious. My son surprised me by buying a mug for me for my birthday and we also bought a cookbook, honey and green tomato pickles. We were too full for dessert but there is always the next time. Don't miss out on homemade food, skip the chain restaurant and try the Duluth Grill. We will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, WI
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hectic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Apparently a very thriving business. We went between breakfast and lunch and waited quite a while to snag a table, but we were in no rush so did not mind. The food was tasty (but the portions smaller than we expected, so we had plenty of room left for dessert) and our waitress came by regularly to check on us and see if we needed anything else. Loved the variety of locally grown/raised items on the menu!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.