We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family restaurant using locally-grown natural food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Grill

Duluth Grill
118 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1822
218-726-1150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 200 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American, Organic, Barbecue, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic family restaurant using locally-grown natural food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

One of our very favorite places to eat! Family-run, and the family is always there, often out visiting with customers. Expect to wait as we in Duluth love this place. Their food is all great but I especially like the pancakes, the red flannel hash, and for dinner, the baked whitefish.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    166
    56
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The Duluth Grill will make you smile!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We headed here for lunch after seeing it on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. As is always the case in MN, the service was friendly and accommodating. We ordered the Scotch Eggs and the Duck Confit Omelet. We finished the meal with Apple Pie which was also very good.

The quality of the food was fantastic and it tasted great too! We don't have a gluten allergy but, if we did, this is where we would head as they have an extensive gluten-free selection on their menu too. We are looking forward to our return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“our first DDD experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

finally we had the opportunity to visit one of diners drive inns and dives locations. and we will be back again when in the area. we stopped in for breakfast this past weekend. we were in duluth for some time away from home. we did a little shopping and had a couple of great meals, including this one at the duluth grill. our waitress Jill was very pleasant and attentive. great service. my wife and i both very much enjoyed our meals. only problem was, we didn't get to come back a second time. it is easily accessed off the main highway so you have no excuses not to go. and the prices were more than reasonable. i guarantee you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We had breakfast and it was wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in for breakfast and had a wonderful experience. The server was sweet and friendly even offered to give us our coffee to go when we left. We tried scotch eggs for the first time and liked them. The eggs Benedict was great, as we're the hash browns. Fun decor. Loved the coffee cups too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atoka, Tennessee
Level Contributor
156 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Won't go again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Being featured on DDD and being ranked so high on Trip Advisor we were SO excited to try the Duluth Grill. Our first night in Duluth we went and my wife ordered the Friday night fish fry special (baked though, not fried), I had the Pasty. Started out bad when after we ordered all the tables around us got their food first (we had ordered prior to them) and ours took forever. Waitress never even came to tell us why the wait was so long, explain anything, just left us sitting there wondering the entire time. When we finally got the meals, sadly the salad that came with them was the best part (good vinaigrette dressing). My wife thought the fish was extremely unappetizing on the plate, it was rolled up in a ball rather than a whole filet laid out. She figured out why as she started to eat it. The inside of the whitefish had a lot of dark meat and almost a gelatin like substance over it, only on the backside though. Think they were trying to cover it up with the presentation. It was so bad she sent it back and didn’t want anything else due to it being so unappetizing. My wife and I have been married over 7 years and she has never in that entire time sent anything back if that says anything. The Pasty was eh, but nothing better than that. Very bland, very little seasoning to it and the gravy with it tasted like it came out of a jar. Thoroughly unimpressed, especially since they pride themselves on fresh local ingredients, everything homemade, etc. The manager was extremely nice and comp’d my wife’s fish without any issues, so if I could I would give it 1 ½ stars due to that, can’t justify giving them the upgrade though to 2 stars. The place was rather crowded while we were there so perhaps both our meals and service were a total fluke, but we would definitely not go back and would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duluth Grill also viewed

 

Been to Duluth Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.