We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Duluth Grill will make you smile!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Grill

Duluth Grill
118 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1822
218-726-1150
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Duluth Grill will make you smile!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We headed here for lunch after seeing it on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives. As is always the case in MN, the service was friendly and accommodating. We ordered the Scotch Eggs and the Duck Confit Omelet. We finished the meal with Apple Pie which was also very good.

The quality of the food was fantastic and it tasted great too! We don't have a gluten allergy but, if we did, this is where we would head as they have an extensive gluten-free selection on their menu too. We are looking forward to our return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    286
    85
    24
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“our first DDD experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

finally we had the opportunity to visit one of diners drive inns and dives locations. and we will be back again when in the area. we stopped in for breakfast this past weekend. we were in duluth for some time away from home. we did a little shopping and had a couple of great meals, including this one at the duluth grill. our waitress Jill was very pleasant and attentive. great service. my wife and i both very much enjoyed our meals. only problem was, we didn't get to come back a second time. it is easily accessed off the main highway so you have no excuses not to go. and the prices were more than reasonable. i guarantee you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We had breakfast and it was wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in for breakfast and had a wonderful experience. The server was sweet and friendly even offered to give us our coffee to go when we left. We tried scotch eggs for the first time and liked them. The eggs Benedict was great, as we're the hash browns. Fun decor. Loved the coffee cups too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Won't go again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Being featured on DDD and being ranked so high on Trip Advisor we were SO excited to try the Duluth Grill. Our first night in Duluth we went and my wife ordered the Friday night fish fry special (baked though, not fried), I had the Pasty. Started out bad when after we ordered all the tables around us got their food first (we had ordered prior to them) and ours took forever. Waitress never even came to tell us why the wait was so long, explain anything, just left us sitting there wondering the entire time. When we finally got the meals, sadly the salad that came with them was the best part (good vinaigrette dressing). My wife thought the fish was extremely unappetizing on the plate, it was rolled up in a ball rather than a whole filet laid out. She figured out why as she started to eat it. The inside of the whitefish had a lot of dark meat and almost a gelatin like substance over it, only on the backside though. Think they were trying to cover it up with the presentation. It was so bad she sent it back and didn’t want anything else due to it being so unappetizing. My wife and I have been married over 7 years and she has never in that entire time sent anything back if that says anything. The Pasty was eh, but nothing better than that. Very bland, very little seasoning to it and the gravy with it tasted like it came out of a jar. Thoroughly unimpressed, especially since they pride themselves on fresh local ingredients, everything homemade, etc. The manager was extremely nice and comp’d my wife’s fish without any issues, so if I could I would give it 1 ½ stars due to that, can’t justify giving them the upgrade though to 2 stars. The place was rather crowded while we were there so perhaps both our meals and service were a total fluke, but we would definitely not go back and would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
386 reviews 386 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Our go-to restaurant in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place has the best food that we've found anywhere close to Duluth. The Scenic Cafe may be more famous, but we prefer the easy atmosphere and equally-creative creations at the Duluth Grill. The Red Flannel Hash is always on our plates for breakfast as is one of their egg dishes. The coffee is great and there is rarely a wait, even with the recent visit by the Triple-D crew (Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives) causing a stir there. Their chefs are the best and the service has always been top notch as well. I highly recommend this restaurant when you're in Duluth.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.