We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the cheesecake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duluth Grill

Duluth Grill
118 S 27th Ave W, Duluth, MN 55806-1822
218-726-1150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 227 restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Get the cheesecake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

How can you not love food that is homemade? It was so fresh and so yummy. It was also my birthday so we got to pick a dessert for free. We shared the homemade cheesecake and you could absolutely tell it was homemade, you could even taste little sugar granules that had been whipped in. We also had the bison burger which was very good! The homemade ketchup is alright, and the fries were different but yummy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    338
    96
    30
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had heard and read good things about the Duluth Grill. We arrived at 10am on a Friday morning and it was really busy. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. The food, however, was just fair. I had a huge pancake that was cool (the butter would not melt) and was falling apart without flavor. My companion had French Toast that was also tepid and medicore to the taste. Bacon and eggs were excellent. We both had iced tea that was missing the tea--slighlty colored water. This is not what we had in mind. We will try again sometime, but the Rustic Inn, Castle Danger, is about 30 minutes away and a far better value with far better food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Diners drive ins and dives”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went there because it was reviewed on diners drive ins and dives. I thought the food I ordered was good but we didn't go there real hungry so I just had a Blt & soup. I wish I would have been a little more hungry to order one of the special items. The service was great the price was reasonable. I would recommend any one to go there. I would go back

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Creative Family Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Exit the near west side of Duluth and enter a family dining spot too good to be true. The Duluth Grill walks the talk when it comes to local sources - how does produce grown in the parking lot and on the roof of the restaurant get any more local? A family dining menu with a twist - organic, locally sourced ingrediants prepared creatively and lovingly. Great for breakfast anytime, try the daily specials - especially the home cooked free-range turkey dinner on Thursday nights or the bison pot roast Sundays. Nearly everything is made in-house - even the ketchup! Plenty for vegans to choose from as well as the gluten-free diners - but no end of well prepared dishes at reasonable prices. Though no alcohol is served (craft beer from local brewers would be a great addition), there is plenty of well informed, friendly - mostly young - wait staff to help you narrow a dining decision from among the several pages of menu options. Don't forget to leave room for the deconstructed home-made banana cream "pie" - exceptional.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am allergic to wheat and this restaurant has a section in their menu that has gluten-free food. I had the gluten-free turkey burger. It was amazing. My co-worker had french toast and he stated it was wonderful. More food than either of us could eat. I have never eaten there before, but I will go back when I am back in Duluth.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duluth Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duluth Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.