We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's decent food and all you can eat...dig in!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Country Buffet

Old Country Buffet
1600 Miller Trunk Hwy, Ste 215, Duluth, MN 55811-5636
218-722-4546
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ashland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's decent food and all you can eat...dig in!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

been here a number of times over the years. Has always been a decent place to go and take the family. The buffet is constantly being tended which is nice to see. You'll have a nice meal that will not leave you hungry!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Superior, WI
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Trough - I say average - the kids say outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The OCB at Miller Hill Mall in Duluth is a fairly regular place for use to go. There's usually 6 or 7 of us, and everybody can find things to their liking. My two boys are notoriously picky eaters. No worries here.

Good: several of the dessert selections are quite good - we lie in wait, ready to pounce when they bring out the fresh, warm sugar cookies. They usually have a couple of good comfort food dishes like meatloaf or pot roast. The Mexican bar is pretty good, and definitely filling. They have lots of salad choices, although there's usually only a couple of really good choices (and several bland ones).

Bad: they make you pay extra for drinks. Sure they have the expensive ICEE machine, but maybe they should include normal drinks in the base price (like in the past) and charge extra only if you want an ICEE (or get rid of it altogether). During the last couple of trips they've had a custom stir-fry (not quite a Mongolian Grill-type setup), but the choices are limited and the end result is nothing special at all. The people watching here is a lot like the website: The People of Wal-mart (and yes, that probably includes us, as well).

We have two pet names for the place: The Trough and OBC (instead of OCB - my youngest came up with that and when he runs the letters together - it comes out as Obese!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Better than I expected...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Gotta say, the 'pigfet' was not on my Top Ten list. But it was a week til payday, funds were tight, and we had a coupon--so game on!
The restaurant and dining room were CLEAN, and many staff were continually cleaning the food areas. And , much to my surprise, the food was pretty good. Really tender steak, some lovely cheese enchiladas, and some pretty decent soup, in addition to the requisite fried things. Some pretty-good pizza. A nice salad bar. Even a Mongolian BBQ.
Decent key lime pie.
I have eaten at an OCB before, I think twice, and was not thrilled. I have to say I would go to this location again. For the style of dining they are doing they are doing it well.
An unexpectedly good experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“great value for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we like that everyone can get what they like at a great price, we enjoy going with big groups and sitting all together with no problem, the kids love the dessert table and slush machine

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always Leave Full”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Some people like buffets and some don't. But, for us it was always an easy place to go when our son was little. It still is a nice thing from time to time.

I love the salad bar as there is just about anything you can want on a salad. Sometimes the other food choices are not the best, but I am a very picky eater.

The one thing we have noticed with this place is that the staff could be a bit friendlier.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Country Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Old Country Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Country Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.