We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza - First Street

Sammy's Pizza - First Street
103 W 1ST St, Duluth, MN 55802-2092
(218) 727-8551
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 230 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

My family had just gotten into Duluth and were starving. Pizza was everyone's choice and we found Sammy's through Trip Advisor. The place was busy, the pizza was hot but just average. I would say I have had better pizza. We ordered garlic cheese bread, it seemed they forgot because we got out pizza before the bread, then only got regular garlic bread not the cheese bread we ordered. Again, I would say this place is just okay. Not phenomenal.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good pizza thin crust”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I love the lunch buffet.. Prices have gone up from when I ised to go all the time . Thinking 12.99 for ,inch now.. Pizza is thin crust and good tasting . Salad bar , wings , pasta .. All is not bad for a buffet . Can order off me I also. Take home frozen also I do all the time . Allot cheaper .

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Only So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

We were staying in a local hotel and the kids got hungry after swimming, so we ordered pizzas. The delivery was prompt, and the ham and pineapple pizza was good, but the double crust pepperoni didn't appear to have a double crust, and the chicken bacon ranch had very little flavor. Not recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sammy's Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I walk into a room with a checkered wall and a tan wall. Right as I walk in, I can smell the pizza. I sit at the booth and look through the menu. Looking around the restaurant, I see downtown Duluth with the lights outside.
The options on the menu include soups and salad, pizza, and pasta. The average price is around 8-$10 per pizza because there are different sizes of pizzas that you can order on the menu. We order a pepperoni pizza and a cheese pizza. After about a 25 minute wait, we get our pizzas that smell amazing. I grab a piece of pizza and take a bite into cheesy and crispy pizza. The pizza is very cheesy. The only negative to my visit was that the price could’ve been a little less.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“if you have lived there you will know!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

I have ordered sasuage and onion pizza since I was a little kid!!!!! so when I go back that's what I order!!!! heven

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza - First Street also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza - First Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza - First Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.