We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pizza and pasta - all average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza - First Street

Sammy's Pizza - First Street
103 W 1ST St, Duluth, MN 55802-2092
(218) 727-8551
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 226 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“pizza and pasta - all average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

Just average buffet style pizza and pasta at lunch times. Nothing outstanding here or at any of the other Sammy's pizzas in the area either.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    32
    13
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“late night hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

After a late night at the opera and a late lunch, we didn't need anything until the eleven o'clock hour. Sammy's Pizza was just minutes away from our hotel and affordable at that hour.
Make sure you ask for napkins, since they didn't bring any in less than a half an hour of delivery... It tasted great, and was more than we could eat..... and it was 14 inch pizza for two of us.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
“Best Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Always eat at Sammy's when we're down in Duluth. Best thin crust ever, and always served really hot!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmahenry
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A previous review said squares of happiness - they were right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The pizza is fabulous. Little squares of thin, crispy, hot, gooey goodness! We had teh 4 meat pizza and loved it. We also learned that there is a Sammy's in Minot, ND andwe will definitely check it out when we are out west this month. Our waitress was pleasant, the garlic bread crisp but not nearly garlic-y enough for us. The price was reasonable and they also have a buffet on Wednesday evenings and at lunch-time. We took leftovers with us and ate them cold as a snack. Yum.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Squares of Happiness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Sammy's Pizza on 1st was exactly what my mom and I were looking for on our recent trip to Duluth: a comfortable, low-key, local joint with real handmade, fresh, non-chain-like pizza. Yes, Sammy's DOES have multiple locations, but the pizza isn't cookie cutter. Arrived around 5:30 midweek and sat right down. The thin, crunchy crust and the sauce were flavorful, and the toppings were very generous. We ordered a medium half Hawaiian and half cheeseburger (with onion), and each square was pure happiness. Didn't want to stop eating! In fact, the next day, we ordered a pizza to take back home, to make our great vacation last a little longer. Server was friendly and efficient (and graciously took our picture for us). Price was certainly in line with the quality of the food. Decor is very casual -- come as you are, alone or with a group; nothing fancy -- and comfortable. We'll be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza - First Street also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza - First Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza - First Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.