We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piping hot and absolutely delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza - First Street

Sammy's Pizza - First Street
103 W 1ST St, Duluth, MN 55802-2092
(218) 727-8551
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 227 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Piping hot and absolutely delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

For years we've been coming to Duluth and we always make a stop at Sammy's. Our large fully loaded pizza was so good it was difficult to stop eating even though we were full. It's too bad it wasn't in a better location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    32
    13
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The Pizza is Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

After reading other reviews I decided we should try Sammy's Pizza when we visited Duluth. We had been to Duluth many times, but had never eaten there. It was some of the best thin crust pizza I've had. It was very quiet on a Sunday night. The waitress was very nice and service was great. It's not fancy, but it's very tasty. I would go back there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've been eating Sammy's Pizza since high school and we graduated over 50 years ago! It still tastes the same! Back in high school, we would pool our money and get a large pizza for $1.25. So nice that it hasn't changed in all those years. Fun to go back and re-visit our teenage years and have our favorite pizza.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If pizza is your thing, then this is the place for you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I grew up on this pizza. I have tried them all. Thick, thin, eclectic, double stuffed, etc but nothing beats a good ole pepperoni and cheese pizza at Sammy's

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great taste poor delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Delivery driver incapable of following clear and simple instructions (turned right when told to go left, etc.) Both Pizza were cut in center but no cuts extended through crust. Excellent flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza - First Street also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza - First Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza - First Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.