We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piping hot and absolutely delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza

Sammy's Pizza
103 West 1st Street, Duluth, MN 55802-2092
12187278551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 197 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Homemade sauce with our secret mix of seasonings. Dough that's made fresh every morning. Specialty meats and real mozzarella cheese. The sounds of crisp crust being cut into perfectly sized squares. That's what you'll find in the kitchen at Sammy's Pizza & Restaurant in Downtown Duluth.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Piping hot and absolutely delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

For years we've been coming to Duluth and we always make a stop at Sammy's. Our large fully loaded pizza was so good it was difficult to stop eating even though we were full. It's too bad it wasn't in a better location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Pizza is Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

After reading other reviews I decided we should try Sammy's Pizza when we visited Duluth. We had been to Duluth many times, but had never eaten there. It was some of the best thin crust pizza I've had. It was very quiet on a Sunday night. The waitress was very nice and service was great. It's not fancy, but it's very tasty. I would go back there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've been eating Sammy's Pizza since high school and we graduated over 50 years ago! It still tastes the same! Back in high school, we would pool our money and get a large pizza for $1.25. So nice that it hasn't changed in all those years. Fun to go back and re-visit our teenage years and have our favorite pizza.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If pizza is your thing, then this is the place for you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I grew up on this pizza. I have tried them all. Thick, thin, eclectic, double stuffed, etc but nothing beats a good ole pepperoni and cheese pizza at Sammy's

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great taste poor delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Delivery driver incapable of following clear and simple instructions (turned right when told to go left, etc.) Both Pizza were cut in center but no cuts extended through crust. Excellent flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.