We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza - First Street

Sammy's Pizza - First Street
103 W 1ST St, Duluth, MN 55802-2092
(218) 727-8551
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 226 restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've been eating Sammy's Pizza since high school and we graduated over 50 years ago! It still tastes the same! Back in high school, we would pool our money and get a large pizza for $1.25. So nice that it hasn't changed in all those years. Fun to go back and re-visit our teenage years and have our favorite pizza.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    32
    13
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If pizza is your thing, then this is the place for you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I grew up on this pizza. I have tried them all. Thick, thin, eclectic, double stuffed, etc but nothing beats a good ole pepperoni and cheese pizza at Sammy's

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great taste poor delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Delivery driver incapable of following clear and simple instructions (turned right when told to go left, etc.) Both Pizza were cut in center but no cuts extended through crust. Excellent flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

They were very busy the day we were there. We had the lunch buffet every things was really good.I have had better pizza but the salad soup and dessert pizza were very good. The only complaint I had was they didn't bring out the dessert pizza until buffet was going for 45 minutes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went here based on trip advisor reviews and it was a great choice. We ordered a small House Special with extra thick crust and that was enough for my husband and I. Not overly greasy with homemade ingredients. Not many options for sides and no pasta offered. Waitress wasn't overly attentive but order arrived quickly. We'd go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza - First Street also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza - First Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza - First Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.