We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taste poor delivery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's Pizza - First Street

Sammy's Pizza - First Street
103 W 1ST St, Duluth, MN 55802-2092
(218) 727-8551
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 230 Restaurants in Duluth
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great taste poor delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Delivery driver incapable of following clear and simple instructions (turned right when told to go left, etc.) Both Pizza were cut in center but no cuts extended through crust. Excellent flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

They were very busy the day we were there. We had the lunch buffet every things was really good.I have had better pizza but the salad soup and dessert pizza were very good. The only complaint I had was they didn't bring out the dessert pizza until buffet was going for 45 minutes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Went here based on trip advisor reviews and it was a great choice. We ordered a small House Special with extra thick crust and that was enough for my husband and I. Not overly greasy with homemade ingredients. Not many options for sides and no pasta offered. Waitress wasn't overly attentive but order arrived quickly. We'd go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsale, AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Greasy pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I heard a lot about Sammy's, but the pizza was very greasy and overpriced. If you want local fare try pizza at Clyde's...much better. Or, go to Gordy's or grandma's and have the fish sandwich! Not impressed by Sammy's.....sorry.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We ate here twice because it's the best pizza ever. You have to try it when you are in Duluth. Easy to get to and you will love it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Pizza - First Street also viewed

 

Been to Sammy's Pizza - First Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's Pizza - First Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.