We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get A Wieney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coney Island The Original

Coney Island The Original
107 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802
(218) 727-1077
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 226 restaurants in Duluth
Restaurant details
Sutton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Get A Wieney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stop by this place an order a couple of wieney's with the works, (meat sauce, mustard, onion). Sooo Bad but SOOO GOOD. Good breakfast choices, get the hash & eggs. Quick, fast & good

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    21
    16
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Usa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great place to sample unique local flavor. A Duluth favorite for many years. Inexpensive and easily accessible as well!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Made the whole family happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Now that our kiddos are older (7 & 10), we're trying to expand their horizons and avoid chain restaurants when we travel. This is a great local spot that pleased our entire family.

The coney dogs are just like the ones my husband loved when we lived in Detroit, loaded with chili, onions and flavor. I had the terrific Chicago dog with relish, mustard and pickle -- and onion rings that were crisp, crunchy perfection. There's no kids' menu, but the plain dog, cheeseburger and fries made the kiddos happy. The burger was plenty big enough to share, and topped with a fresh pretzel bun that we all loved.

We visited on a Saturday afternoon and had no trouble getting a table. The decor is retro kitsch, with car parts and tin signs on the walls.

Come prepared with quarters for the parking meters out front, and if your kids are still at the young-and-grabby stage, be careful about the self-service coffee pot sitting on the edge of the counter. There's a nice candy shop next door (Fannie Rose) where you can pick up some sweets or popcorn for the road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Great place for locals and visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This place seems to have a great local following, they know the locals and what they want as they walk in and are helpful to the people just trying it for the first time. Must stop in for lunch!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Breakfast with Local Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Needing a quick, late breakfast on a Sunday morning, the friendly staff at Coney Island was hopping to get meals out quickly. A latte took a little longer than expected, but was excellent. Eggs & oatmeal showed up hot and tasty. The decor made the short wait interesting and the staff took the time to make us feel welcome. Would definitely recommend this spot for quick, delicious breakfast or sandwich.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coney Island The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coney Island The Original, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.