We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of customer service focus!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coney Island The Original

Coney Island The Original
107 E Superior St, Duluth, MN 55802
(218) 727-1077
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 239 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
MN
Level Contributor
161 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lack of customer service focus!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Food is ok, what you'd expect in a diner like this. Complaints: No paper in toilets, no paper towels in restrooms. Overheard take out order where customer asked if there was ketchup, napkins, forks- No they didn't include them ...so I think they could do a bit to improve customer service on all fronts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kjhMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went there for breakfast, it was very good. Service was excellent! Pleasantly surprised! Would go back again! Very reasonably priced!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, MN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kids wanted hot dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stopped here by chance since I had gone to the candy shop next door and my kids declared they wanted hot dogs for lunch. We loved the decor of the place and I loved ordering at the counter, no waiting for waitstaff with hungry kids. The prices were great, we got three hot dogs with fries, an italian and gyro. All very good but I wished I remembered the Italian had hot peppers! We will be coming back. Oh and my son loved the hot dog on the ceiling, he pointed it out for me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theandermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot & Quite Inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a great little place to eat breakfast at if you are staying at one of the downtown hotels. Super cheap and good eggs/pancakes/etc. I have only had breakfast here, but I would guess lunch & dinner are good too. Not too many healthy options, but you probably won't go here if you are worried about that.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cs3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This restaurant is perfect for a light lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stumbled upon this restaurant by accident while visiting Duluth. I love old fashioned, nostalgic atmosphere. I got the Coney Island original hot dog with fries and a drink for six dollars including the tip. How can you go wrong? Next time I visit Duluth, I will definitely go back. I can see why this restaurant has been around for ninety years.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holllywood38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coney Island The Original also viewed

 

Been to Coney Island The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing