We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic French Toast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UNCLE Louis Cafe

UNCLE Louis Cafe
520 E 4th St, Duluth, MN 55805-1936
218-727-4518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 225 restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Roseville, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic French Toast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I went with only two pieces, choose three! Some of the best breakfast food I've eaten, I'll come back for sure, to try something else delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    39
    11
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Deliciousness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It's a small diner, but definitely worth the wait! We got there after the pre-church rush and before the hang-over rush, and we still had a short wait. That should tell you how great it is. Everyone wants to eat here. The staff was wonderful about getting tables turned over quickly. The food was delicious and even though they were busy, it still got to our table hot and fast. We ate with four people and it cost about what two people would eat anywhere else. Great food, great staff, and a great time. Eating here is a must when you're in Duluth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mountain of hash brown!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Worth the 15 minute wait.
Service was very quick and courteous.
Portions were very generous and tasty.
A must if you in the Duluth area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“OMG eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Raspberry stuffed French toast, worth every calorie! Little restaurant big flavor. Local favorite, very busy, but we were quickly seated and served. They had a line the whole time we were there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“French Toast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We asked the bartender at the Androy Hotel in Superior where to eat for breakfast and he was quick to say Uncle Louis. If you want the best French Toast go to Uncle Louis. So that is where we went the next morning. The French Toast really is spectacular. The portions are large, the service is good and friendly and the place is clean. Good coffee. When looking for the place remember it is on the hill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UNCLE Louis Cafe also viewed

 

Been to UNCLE Louis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UNCLE Louis Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.