We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At Sara's Table

At Sara's Table
1902 E 8th Street, Duluth, MN 55812
218-724-6811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 229 Restaurants in Duluth
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I LOVE this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

There are lots of things I love about this place: the outdoor seating area, the locavore food, unique menu items, and really tasty coffee are the best. The prices are a bit high, and I have had a couple of service issues when the restaurant is really busy. On all three of those occassions, the waiter did not know we were there (hostess didn't communicate). But they have the BEST breakfast around, and I love that their food is mostly local. They even have gardens on site that grow produce for the restaurant. Also, they compost, which puts them higher on my list of great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    45
    18
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Duluth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is the breakfast place in Duluth hands down. You have to try the homemade cranberry wild rice bread that they use in the french toast, amazing. The chocolate chip/Banana pancakes are excellent, as are all the egg dishes. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Loved this cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and it looked like something we would enjoy...we were able to be seated outside...which we love in the summer. The fish tacos were awesome. The bakery items very tempting... Wonderful place...can't wait to go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food, local sources, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The wait was longer than I'd expected, but once seated, it didn't disappoint. I also loved that they provided great coffee free of charge while we were waiting, though after inviting us to have a cup, their pots were empty. Another guest referred me to another pot further into the store. I let them know the pots were empty, and when we went back for a second cup, there was some.

Gardens are outside on the other side of the parking lot, and from a notice on the bulletin board, more are planned. Much is locally sourced, which we really appreciate. We were there for a Saturday brunch. My daughter had a large pancake stuffed with fruit which she loved, another daughter had a ham and gouda sandwich which she was ecstatic about, my husband eggs, and I had cranberry wild rice french toast. The house made cinnamon-y syrup was heavenly!

The server was excellent in many ways. He took seriously my questions about ingredients because I have some medical difficulties with certain ingredients. I was grateful he took the question seriously because not everyone does. He was frequently backed to the table to refill water and check to see if we needed anything, and was responsive when we needed to leave quickly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“usually good, always overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

quality of food is great most of the time but sometimes very disappointing. service can be slow and there is an assumption that you should know that you serve your own coffee. can be uncomfortable for new comers. prices are very high for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed At Sara's Table also viewed

 

Been to At Sara's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Sara's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.