We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Fast and Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribou Coffee

Caribou Coffee
307 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802
(218) 786-0985
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 231 Restaurants in Duluth
Restaurant details
Iron River, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Always Fast and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I used to work in Canal Park. I've since left the area but still stop by this particular Caribou whenever I get the chance. Why you might ask? The service! They are the friendliest bistros I've met... regardless of how busy or the time of day you visit. Also, the intimate attic is the perfect place (when they are slow) to get a ton of work done. Plus, with just a few skips and a jump you can hit the lakewalk and listen to the waves crash along Lake Superior. I'm not a huge fan of chains but the truth is, the Northern Lite Latte Turtle (no longer on their menu but they'll still make it if you ask nice) is my favorite coffee drink in the world. Nothing has passed this up. Sure, I've had great drinks but this one takes the cake. Combine it with super friendly staff and a great location and this shop stands above the rest!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otsego, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Typical Caribou but so nice on those chilly mornings. People were ordering all kinds of crazy "Green Extras" due to St. Patty's Day. Staff smiled and served! Line was a bit slow due to the requests.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“always a great cup of coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

very nice, clean and cozy.
the best cappuchino in the canal park area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Fantastic coffee and be sure to try the specialties around Christmas.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best mochas ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

The original dark chocolate version is best, especially if they include a couple of their chocolate covered coffee beans, but how many chain coffee houses give you three choices in chocolate? Love that their regular 12 oz espresso drinks have 2 shots standard, too! Caribou is one of the things we miss most after moving away from Minnesota but we found one in Henderson, NV and hear they may be expanding to other locations in the nation as well. We wish them well, and this particular Caribou is perfectly located close to the Lake Walk and next to a bookstore.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribou Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Caribou Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribou Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.