We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We never miss it....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Saigon

Taste of Saigon
394 S Lake Ave, Ste 105, Duluth, MN 55802-2336
218-727-1598
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 199 Restaurants in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Nisswa MN
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“We never miss it....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

When visiting Duluth, we always make an appoint to have a meal at Taste of Saigon. Located in the Dewitt Seitz building, don't be turned off by the unassuming storefront style of this place. It is just great. We dined in much fancier places while in Duluth this time, but didn't have a better or tastier meal. Not fancy, but delicious. Very reasonable, as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really love the egg rolls!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great egg rolls and great service! This is a neat and authentic little vietnamese restaurant. I love supporting local business and this family is always very kind every time we visit. Attentive service. I have been pleased with everything I have ordered here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fridley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Normally love this place but avoid the Pho”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place is usually a place we love. When we saw a sign that they now offer "Pho" we had to see their version of this Vietnamese noodle soup. The Pho was bland, the portion was small and they did not offer any vegetables. I had the vegetarian pho with Tofu. (It really is not vegetarian because the broth is beef based, which I did know) The Pho then only had tofu, noodles and onions, normally you have a couple of vegetables in the mix. I have had the opportunity to try many Pho restaurants in the Twin Cities area and I am now a little spoiled but I was really disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Viet Namese place? Not!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stopped in on a recent one night visit to Duluth. We love Viet Namese food, so this came up on our radar. Located in a busy and fun part of Duluth in a re-purposed older building that housed a number of businesses. After being seated and given menus, we almost decided to get up and leave, thinking we would try the Thai place down the street. It was clear that the menu was primarily oriented toward Chines cuisine, with an extremely limited number of Viet Namese options. However, we reasoned that perhaps this was a compromise of the local market, and that the Chinese food was there for those unfamiliar with southeast Asian food. Turns out we were wrong. We ordered several Viet Namese staples, the spicy lemongrass chicken, a bowl of Bun (dry noodles topped with grilled meat, herbs, and Nuoc Cham sauce) and an ice coffee. Only the ice coffee was authentic. The spicy lemongrass chicken resembled nothing more than a bland Chines curry, and the bun was merely noodles with a couple of egg rolls cut up on top. Very disappointing. Otoh, service was courteous and pleasant. Skip this place if it's true Viet Namese cuisine you seek.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worse restaurant I have ever been too”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went there with a couple friends and we all agreed that it was by far the worse place we have ever been too. The service was horrible. Waiters could barely speak English and looked down upon us for looking a little young. We all had different orders some order 2-3 dishes per person. Waiter would not let us order more than 10 items because we had 10 people. They said we would not be able to finish it and we would be wasting our money. Personally we felt it was because they thought we wouldn't have enough money.

The food was horrible, no taste at all. Very bland and extremely overpriced for the serving size. In the end the waiter was right, we didn't finish our food. But it wasn't because we couldn't eat it, it was because the food was so horrible we all lost our appetites from the horrible food. We all left hungry and ended up going somewhere else for food.

Overall this is personally the truth; Americans with no background of Asian food will extremely enjoy the place. They will think it is the best Asian food that is offered in Duluth. But if you do come with a background in Asian food, you will realize that the place is horrible and will not enjoy the place at all.

And if you are there for Pho, never ever go there. Their serving size is enough to feed a small child, not a grown adult. From Saint Paul you can grab a bowl of Pho three time Taste of Saigon's size for half the price. And the taste will be 5x better. Also they do not have any Pho ingredients, only Tabasco sauce.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Saigon also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.